After all these years…

… I finally won one of Guylty’s pocket shrines in this year’s Richard Armitage birthday auction! I’ve been admiring her shrines for years, I have seen some up close and personal from a few fans I have met over the years, but I have never managed to win one.

I didn’t want just any shrine, I preferably wanted one with any of my fave Richard Armitage characters, i.e. John Thornton, John Porter, John Proctor, Harry Kennedy, I could have done Adam Price as well, he’s so cute, or a Thorin or Astrov one, and even would have accepted a Daniel Miller. I can’t tell you how stoked I am that in the end I now actually won a John Thornton shrine! The bonus is that it also contains a candle holder (I love candles). John Thornton is my gateway drug to Richard Armitage from when I first saw North & South 14 years ago and I still think it’s one of the absolute best things Richard has ever done. Now I’ll have him in a shrine too. So, this is what I will be receiving…

Oh man, my heart rate went way past healthy when the last minutes of the auction started. I was the highest bidder on this item from almost the beginning and it surprised me that it still remained within my price range during the whole auction. Usually I am quite quickly outbid on shrines and I turn to lovely other items instead (and this year’s auction had some really lovely other items!), but this year was different and the item remained affordable for me. During the last minute I raised my bid a little higher than I had originally planned beforehand (I could almost taste victory, so couldn’t let it pass) and it paid off and I won! Mr. Esther looked on in amazement and is extra pleased for me because I won a John Thornton item. He knows how much I love John Thornton. I’m sorry the other last minute bidder was not successful but I am also very happy for myself.

So, I win a shrine and it benefits the LOROS charity in Leicester in celebration of Richard Armitage’s birthday. Best of all worlds, I’d say. 🙂

53 thoughts on “After all these years…

            1. yeah, i was pipped at the post -i was tempted to go a bit higher but who knows when it would have stopped! lol
              i just love how Percy looks and his character before he turned into a massive arsehole! lol (the proposal scene is just a dream)

              Liked by 2 people

            1. Jane it was a true dogfight whoever my competitor was because my heart was racing in that snow box until the very end! I ended up upping the bid second guessing myself (typical of me)
              I’ll explain on Monday’s blog post in more detail 😉

              Liked by 2 people

      1. Esther it’s written up for Monday
        I’m still a bit stunned and was at work yesterday when the results came through so I couldn’t jump up and down like last year. It’s very bittersweet too but I had a wonderful support system and treasure them 🤗❤️

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Esther another trifecta three badges that Rachel made and contributed one of which we five gave to Richie with his books and Thorin card you signed
            The badge was attached to the card 🤗❤️That was a dogfight too to win !

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Violet

    Congratulations, Esther! I’m happy that your Thornton pocket shrine dream has come true and that your husband is nice about it. May it arrive safely and quickly. Enjoy! ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Richard! – The Book of Esther

  3. Esther – a hundred thousand apologies for my overdue comment here. Very ungracious of me to not comment sooner on this lovely post. First and foremost, thank you for such a generous bid. The real price for me is that you penned this enthusiastic post. Can’t thank you enough for that. And just to say that I am feeling a bit sheepish that I hadn’t yet made a shrine for you *without auctions*! You certainly deserve a big thank you, in any case. Not just for your bid and your post, but also for lovely packages sent to me in the past.
    The shrine is on the way to you. And I’m gonna have to think of a way of making my deplorable lack of appreciation in another way!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Holy shit, you have nothing to apologize for and absolutely nothing to feel sheepish about! You’ve been busy these past days so I would have been surprised to receive any immediate response. As for making me a shrine without auction or giveaway – you owe me nothing! I think the very few things I have sent you over time have been in thanks for things *you* have done. So, yeah, stop thinking like that. 🙂 And I am very very much looking forward to the post next week!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My day is made – The Book of Esther

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.