Our holiday & #RA50Auctions

It’s a bit strange turning 50 during these pandemic times. My 50th last year and my husband’s 50th this year were both celebrated in lockdown at home, with few visitors and no big parties possible. We’re not big birthday party people, I never go big on birthdays, but 50 did feel a little special. I had originally wanted to throw a “We’re 100!” party last fall, when I was 50.5 and my husband was 49.5 years old, but alas, due to lockdowns and a virus that has been killing so many people, that was not possible. So, with all the 50th birthday partying that has not been possible, I’ve got to say that partying online for Richard Armitage’s 50th has been extra fun!

I was not able to follow everything in detail, as I am away on a family holiday in France in the Loire-Atlantique / South Brittany region, but celebrating Richard’s 50th with the online birthday auctions has been extra exciting this year. It was always going to be fun and exciting but then Richard reached out and donated an item of his own, the Guy of Gisborne leather jacket, and that was the little cherry on top. So, from our holiday in France, I’ve been doing my best to follow what I could and join in the celebrations.

While walking around in Rennes on August 18th…

… Mr Esther, mini me and I watched the last few minutes of the jacket auction on my phone and we saw the price jump up almost €2000,- at the very end! We were amazed. The jacket sold for a whopping €6333,- (!!) and Richard seemed pleased as well:

Then on the 19th, after a short afternoon visit to the little town of Redon with a nice cup of tea there…

… and a swim after with mini me in the indoor swimming pool right behind our cottage, I was at the laptop about 15 minutes after the fixed price items went live. Man, so many items went like hot cakes! I had two things in my basket and by the time I got around to paying, one of them was already gone. After paying for the one leftover item I picked another second item, so I’m happy with that too. I also had another interest in these fixed-price items as I had donated some magnets to the sale, 36 of them…

… and they too were all sold out within a few hours at €5 per magnet. That’s another €180,- that can go into the donation pot for LOROS hospice!

Yesterday on the 20th, which was also the final #RA50Auctions day, we visited the beautiful city of Vannes (I think my fave town so far on this Loire-Atlantique/Brittany trip)…

We drove by a castle and a pre-historic menhir…

… and on the grounds of the pre-historic cairn of Petit Mont…

… after looking around there, I switched on the #RA50Auctions on my phone to follow the last minutes of the item I wanted to win, hoping that I wouldn’t be pipped at the post. I was lucky that I was not and that my item remained within my financial reach…

Yes, I really wanted that Martian Invasion of Earth cd and I got it. 🙂 To my regular readers here that may sound surprising as I don’t normally enjoy audiobooks at all, not even Richard’s. But this is no ordinary audiobook, it’s more of an audio play, with different actors voicing different characters and I loved it when I first heard it after purchasing the digital version. I’d actually been considering getting myself a physical copy as well (as I often end up doing when I enjoy something) and I also like the look of the cover, which was an extra incentive to buy. So, this item was perfect for me and I am really looking forward to receiving it. I was also bidding on some other items but let them all go in favour of this one. Luckily the price remained affordable to me.

We drove on to have some drinks at a nearby seaside town…

… and there I watched on my phone to see how the Richard Armitage playing cards would do that I had donated to the auctions. I am very pleased that the playing cards have done so well. Thank you so much to the very generous buyer! That is another great sum for LOROS!

We ended the day at St Gildas de Rhuys where Abelard (of 12th century Abelard and Heloise fame) had been an abbot for seven years. We only planned to drive by on our way home but the church was still open, so we took a peek inside, and we found a nice spot to eat dinner there as well, so we stayed.

I made some time to immediately pay for my Ebay win (ah, the wonders of mobile phones and 4G networks these days!) and with that rounded off the mingling of Armitage birthday celebrations and our holiday. It’s been fun! However, I am signing off for a little while now from Armitage fandom and Armitage blogging. OK, I may pop in on the man’s actual birthday tomorrow but I also have uninterrupted sightseeing to tend to, and books to read and family to focus on.

So, In case I don’t say it on the 22nd: Happy 50th birthday, Richard Armitage and here’s to many more years in health, happiness and surrounded by love! I hope the LOROS donation gift is a good one for you. 🙂

24 thoughts on “Our holiday & #RA50Auctions

  1. I second Nellindreams sentiment very beautiful pictures! Like postcards I want to go there! Making mental notes of the cities !
    Congrats on the win for the CD it is a gorgeous package and happy listening!
    I was pipped at the post on Astrov doll but did win two items!
    Your playing cards did very well ! Right out of the starting gate too
    I wanted your Astrov magnet but it sold out as I was trying to pay for one
    Safe travels back to Paris ❤️😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, MIchele. Today we’re going into Nantes but it’s raining pretty constantly, so we’ll be leaving late. Paris won’t be happening for another week yet.
      I’m sorry you missed out on the magnet and doll. I also bid on that Astrov doll at the beginning but was soon outbid. Glad you won something else instead. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this mixture of holiday and auction review, Esther! And fantastic dedication, sneaking into the auctions for a look and even bidding. A big thank you to you for your donations, bids, purchases and support. It all adds up!
    Oh, and wanted to say – that prehistoric mount really piqued my interest. It looks a bit like the Irish main monument (called Newgrange).
    Keep enjoying your holiday – no more peeking 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And yes, these prehistoric sites fascinate me. We will be visiting more soon. There are also Celtic ties between the Bretagne and the British Isles, so there’s that too.

      Oh well, a little peeking can never be resisted… but I am off to my book again soon and this afternoon maybe a little walk in the woods that are right beside our little cottage.

      And a big thank you for all the hard work you put in and the enthusiasm you have spread with these auctions. Kudos! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds as if you are having a wonderful holiday with a great mixture of sight-seeing, relaxation and a bit of auction excitement.
        (And I hesitated posting this comment, just so you don’t feel compelled to go online again and reply. Enjoy the precious time off!)

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Servetus

    Redons: that is the cutest teapot!

    Abelard: bummer story. Are there any traces left?

    Enjoy the rest of your vacation and eat lots of wonderful, summery French food!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Too late for that, I’m 51and he already turned 50 and doing a 101 party this past spring was not a possibility. We could do it this fall and it would be a “we’re 102” party (me 51.5 years old and him 50.5) but with this Delta variant I don’t think it’ll happen either. Maybe next spring a 103 party right between our two birthdays? It really is worth considering. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I celebrated my 50th during lockdown last year too – yes a quieter bash than I had intended but hey ho, myself and family still alive, so a blessing. 🤲❤️

    I didn’t get to win a magnet this time.😪 I hope you will make some more for the future?🤞

    I’d like to make a couple of magnets of my youngest nephew for his grandparents. Will you let me know how you do it? You can DM me in T if you prefer? Not urgent – please don’t disturb your holiday. I hope to hear from you afterwards, or just reply here, if you’re happy to do so. 👍😘❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone being well is a blessing indeed.

      Sure, if magnets are still desirable, I can certainly have more made for the next auction. 😊 I order them online at a Dutch department store. You pick the photo item you want made (in this case magnets), upload a photo and use one of the background colours they offer. I’m sure if you google photo magnets you will find UK companies who do this as well. I know one UK site that offers personalized photo gifts: wanapix.co.uk, you could try them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.