Meet cute Monday #5

This week’s meet cute is between Gene Kelly and Debbie Reynolds (in her first leading role) in Singin’ in the Rain from 1952, a musical about Hollywood in 1927 when talking pictures were introduced and started taking over from silent movies.

The movie is still a delightful watch, with several really great musical numbers that I sometimes find myself singing in my real life as well. For instance, occasionally, on a good morning or when I’ve stayed up till the wee hours of morning, I’ll sing to myself: Good morning, good mooorning! We’ve talked the whole night though. Good morning, good morning, to you!”. I love the elocution lesson tongue twister song “Moses Supposes“. I still watch in astonishment as Donald O’Connor does his slapstick act during the song “Make ’em Laugh” and of course there is that forever classic Gene Kelly scene where he’s dancin’ and “Singin’ in the Rain“.

In this adorbale meet cute scene I’m sharing, silent movie star Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) is escaping a horde of fans and literally lands in the car of Kathy Selden (Debbie Reynolds).

If you haven’t seen this film yet, find it and watch it. Not only for the music and Gene Kelly and the sheer joy of it, but also for an illustration (in a beautiful Hollywood veneer) of what the transition from silent to talking movies meant for actors (with or without the right voice) and the whole technical challenges that came with it. It’s also a great pick-me-up movie when you’re in need of a little cheer.

10 thoughts on “Meet cute Monday #5

    1. LOL, yes! It’s what I was thinking about when I mentioned the technical challenges in the post. I also love when they film a love scene for the silent movie and while smiling and kissing, Don vocally expresses his anger at Lina, knowing no audience will hear that anyway. It’s lead actors chemistry rooted in hatred. so funny!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Servetus

        You might find some of the stuff written about the production of this film interesting (e.g., Debbie Reynolds’ memoir). Art imitating life. It has made the movie somewhat harder for me to watch, although the artistry of the finished project is definitely undeniable.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. #metoo has been increasingly hard on me. I don’t regret the change but I acknowledge that it is affecting my taste in any kind of art more than about a decade old.

            Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.