The RA challenge, part 2

Continuing the Richard Armitage challenge from here that Guylty has set; questions 9 to 16…

2017-ra-fandom-challenge

#9 Funniest moment you have seen RA in

There are many, small, funny moments and I especially love it when Richard giggles or he is in stitches. In the acting department, I loved seeing him on The Vicar of Dibley. His role was pretty straight compared to the other characters there and not really ‘deep’ but the show makes me laugh so very hard, I was just thrilled he was a part of that. I absolutely adored the proposal scene! Alas, I can’t find a clip of that scene online, but I could just watch it forever!

Harry Geraldine kiss

I also laughed so very hard at this little Strike Back scene:

There are many priceless (behind-the-scenes) moments and interviews but the first thing that springs to mind of real-life Richard are the two Cinemax interviews where Martin Freeman interviews Richard and vice versa.

#10 Saddest moment you have seen RA in

Thorin’s death in the last Hobbit movie. I know Richard has died often enough in other things, but this one really tugged at me. Powerful, heartbreaking scene that made me cry and still gets to me when I watch it again…

#11 Something you wish hadn’t happened in context with RA

I don’t really have many things I wish he hadn’t done. I may not agree with all he does but usually I can let the more bothersome things slide. Live and let live and all that. Having said that, I do get annoyed with his tweeting and deleting. I know it’s his Twitter and his right and all, but it’s annoying and confusing when it happens so much and I really don’t like it.

The other thing that comes to mind is that second Anglophile Channel interview he did. I enjoyed the first one (plenty of adorable giggles in it!) but that second one, the interviewer made me cringe so very much, I just wished he hadn’t done it… Not linking to it here, I just can’t watch it…

#12 Something you wish would happen

I don’t have the need to see Richard do any specific kind of role, he has challenged me with some roles he has chosen and I like that! Of course, I wouldn’t mind another romantic hero but no, my wishes are not for certain roles. What I do wish for fervently is that Sleepwalker, Urban and the Shed Crew, Brain on Fire and PilgrimageΒ would become widely available to audiences everywhere so that I too can see them! For Pilgrimage I have hopes of a wider release and Brain on Fire is supposed to go to Netflix, but where is it already? Basically I hate when my fave actor makes things that I can’t see. I also wish Love, Love, Love had been filmed and I wish for him to return to the London stage! Oh, and he’s always welcome to come spend a weekend at my house! πŸ™‚

#13 A song that reminds you of RA

I have 3 songs that immediately spring to mind! The first one is Justin Timberlake’s Sexy Back due to a fan video I saw way back when in my early fan days that became very popular! I didn’t know this song before I saw that video and I immediately found it very fitting; the video made me laugh. I always loved the first one most, maybe because it’s the first one I saw, but HeathDances later made two more Sexy Back videos, which are also good.

Also, songs used for other fan videos (see my #3 answer in my previous RA challenge post) always make me think of Richard as well.

The second song I want to mention is the Misty Mountains song that Richard himself sang in the first Hobbit movie. Still gives me goosebumps when Richard starts singing… I had it as my phone ringtone for a while but even at its loudest I wouldn’t always hear it properly when the phone was in my bag, so I recently changed the ringtone again. Nevertheless, I love hearing Richard sing this!

And the third song is Muse’s Starlight. Richard referenced my fave band Muse in his birthday tweet last year and I was incredibly stoked when he did. Now, when I listen to Starlight (or to Butterflies and Hurricanes which he referenced a few months later in an interview), I have the added bonus that it now also reminds me of Richard!

#14 Favourite Villain

Surprisingly Francis Dolarhyde!! I do not to horror well at all, avoid it all cost if I can. So, when Richard got this horror-part, I wasn’t sure I could deal with it. I was always going to watch it but I was determined to feel no sympathy whatsoever for such an evil serial killer. And then Richard pulled off the impossible – he made me feel sympathy for Francis! Very well done, Richard!

#15 A character everybody else loves that you hate

I don’t know about everybody but Guy of Gisborne is quite popular and I just don’t… *ducks behind counch – don’t shoot me*…

Guy Richard

I mean, Richard did good, I really do think that, and I don’t hate Guy, but he just doesn’t do that much for me… Maybe it was the guy-liner that was too distracting?

#16 A character everbody else hates that you love

I’m racking my brain here. Richard has played some hateful characters and I can’t say I love any of them. Maybe the answer to this is Francis Dolarhyde? He’s a difficult one to watch and I know there are fans out there who have never been able to even attempt watching him, which I can totally understand. While I can not love Francis Dolarhyde by any stretch of the imagination, he is the one that surprised me and unexpectedly made me feel sympathy (as I already mentioned above). So, I guess that would be my answer to this.

That’s it! More next week, hopefully!

23 thoughts on “The RA challenge, part 2

  1. These questions are getting harder, don’t you think? I’ve been trying to figure what I’ll answer to those everyone loves but you hate and vice versa … those are hard ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They really are getting harder!! I struggled with a couple, like singling out funniest moments and yes, the last two questions are toughest! Love and hate are such strong words. I know characters I hate (like Percy in Marie Lloyd) but I don’t think anyone loves him. And I don’t really hate Guy of Gisborne, I just love him a lot less than many other fans do. The last one was the most difficult for me. Came up with something, but, boy, have I struggled… I’m extra curious to read other answers to these difficult ones now. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Well see I do love Guy, but unfortunately the question isn’t “who does (almost) everyone love that you also love”! That would be so much easier! And now I’m also thinking about the later questions about shipping and degree of obsession …. getting really personal!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My everyones love but I hate is definitely Harry Kennedy. Yours is the best answer ever to “wish would happen.” Yeah. That would be up there with “a Richard Armitage streaming channel that was open globally and including everything he’d ever done.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Now, a channel like THAT would be awesome!
      Yeah, you’ve mentioned that before about Harry Kennedy. In fact, when I was thinking up reples to that question I thought to myself ‘I bet Servetus would answer Harry here’ and looks like I was right. πŸ™‚ I have always wondered what it is about Harry that annoys you, but you don’t have to answer that if you don’t want to. For me, there are elements that are unlikely – like the love story going sooooo fast and Harry is a little two-dimensional and basically just the male totty but I can easily disregard that and I do love him. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Someday i will write that post πŸ™‚ But today is not that day … and he seems to have faded into memory for a lot of people, so I don’t encounter him nearly as much as I used to. Musing: back when I really wanted to write something about this, it was 2010 and I was a new fan and didn’t want to piss people off with what I said. It would have been explosive then. Now I think it might be less controversial, but I don’t feel the same urgency in writing it …

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awwww, you don’t like Guy??? πŸ˜₯ Nah, I do get it even though he’s my favourite. And I have a least-favourite character that will surprise many, too…
    You are so right, though, when it comes to wishing for something to happen. All those releases are a very worthy wish. I am on board with that.
    PS: You probably got distracted by the great peaches, but that is Ralph Fiennes there in the gif of Dolarhyde “spreading his wings” in the light of the film projector πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Shit, I did get distracted (and was rushing to finish this last night before I headed to bed!). Thanks for clearing that up. πŸ™‚ I never saw the Fiennes version, because this really isn’t my kind of story and I only watched it for Richard, but I’ll just keep this gif there anyway. Nice peaches are always worth a look. πŸ˜‰
      Yeah, I suspected my choice of Guy might provoke some comment, but I can’t deny my feelings and it is what it is… But that’s the beauty – enough roles to choose from and every role resonates differently with everyone, which is cool!

      Like

    • The other person I know who really doesn’t like Guy is Mulubinba. But I think there’s a split between people who don’t like him because he’s silly / campy and people who don’t like him because he’s cruel / immoral. There aren’t many of the latter (M is one of them, though).

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m more in the silly camp, I think.

        Like

      • The only time I felt really strongly in the latter camp was at the start is season 3 when he held the little girl over the edge of the cliff. That was definitely not in the line of duty!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think that the fandom has a lot to answer for in that respect. With Guyday becoming a thing, a lot of people’s (natural) reservations about a character like Guy, who is morally ambiguous, were swept away because the Guy lovers were focussing almost exclusively on his romantic side…

        Liked by 1 person

        • There’s always a segment that needs to believe in the goodness of every character he plays. He conceded in an interview after series 2 that he might have made him too appealing and not bad enough. I think this is a case where I am not troubled by it, given the genre of the piece in general, which deals with moral categories at their most shallow anyway. Francis Dolarhyde on the other hand … the need to make him into not a villain bothers me occasionally.

          Liked by 2 people

          • That “need to believe in the goodness of characters” – well, let’s be honest, that is a rather “natural” approach when one is fangirling for an actor. Just in the sense that one is looking for a foil, for another canvas to project romantic feelings on. I’ll admit that I find it hard to resist that kind of “appropriation” of characters, too.
            I think the case is different with Dolarhyde because the show very clearly implies a way out – redemption through Reba. It’s easy to latch on to that – and ignore that the Red Dragon is part of Dolarhyde, too.

            Like

            • and the show is willing (as with every “bad guy” it shows, more or less) to provide a back story that explains or makes the character more sympathetic (which is always Armitage’s strategy, too). I have mixed feelings; I certainly believe people are in part the products of their past. Maybe it’s that I don’t believe love is actually redeeming, and certainly not in that case.

              Like

              • Well, let’s face it – the whole “redemption through love” thing is an old hat. As old as Robin Hood, so to speak. A trope that keeps coming up, even though it’s not backed by reality. Fiction.

                Liked by 1 person

  4. […] on from here and here, now part 3 of Guylty’s RA challenge! Questions 17 to […]

    Like

  5. […] it’s the final part too (following on from parts 1, 2 and 3) of Guylty’s RA Challenge! Questions 25 to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

