Men & DIY

My kids were ready for a little redecoration of their rooms and my daughter wanted a new bed, which we thought was a good idea. The kids have been having a two-week holiday and my husband had more time off than me, so he has started the task at hand. My daughter wanted a light grey on her walls (my husband spent the past two days painting), she has white furniture and now she also has a new white bed. The bed needs to be assembled and that is quite a job, which is still ongoing…

20170505_201816

I looked in on my husband just now and suddenly I found myself giggling, thinking of a certain song! This may only be interesting to German readers out there, but there’s this German folk singer called Reinhard Mey. I think his most famous song is รœber den Wolken, a song I very much like (this video also has English subtitles):

A while ago I found this other song of his on YouTube called Mรคnner im Baumarkt. He combines his signature style serious folk tune (at the end even using his famous รœber den Wolken tune) with a very comical text of men who go to DIY stores…

I wish non-German speakers could understand the lyrics as well, many universal truths in there! Seeing my husband at work, and he’s been to the DIY store a few times already this week, made me think of this song! Yep, I just laughed! Inwardly till now, that may change when my husband gets around to reading this post. ๐Ÿ™‚

17 thoughts on “Men & DIY

  1. IKEA bed? Got your allenwrenches ready?

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL, no, not from IKEA! It’s from a well known bed store here in NL. But an allenwrench was used, yes. ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually my husband wished it had been an IKEA bed, because those assembly instructions tend to be easier, believe it or not, than these ones were.

      Like

  2. Oh wunderbar!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‚ I had a great laugh, at 6.30 in the morning (waiting for my loaf of bread to proof) just the right thing. I didn’t know that Reinhard Mey song – and he is spot on. Mind you, I wouldn’t know. My husband steadfastly refuses to be in the same shop with me…
    Hope the bed was finished last night for your daughter’s first night in her newly made-over room.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think Reinhard Mey only ever does that song live… ๐Ÿ™‚
      I rarely join my husband to the ‘Baumarkt’, he tends to some of the behaviour mentioned in the song. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think the only store my husband and I really do enjoy entering together is a book store. And possibly IKEA.

      Like

      • Congratulations! Ikea is exactly the store where my hubs and I had our one *ever* massive fight… since then the rule has been put in place…

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh dear… yeah, the rule sounds good then.
          My husband and I have a rule to never do anything together behind one computer (like filling in forms or doing taxes) – it’s the one thing that makes us really argue! So, one of us will do whatever is needed at the computer and the other will then comment later, if necessary. Works fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

    • Oh, and yeah, he did get the bed ready for the night. My daughter already loves it! Her room is still a huge mess, but she and I will be able to tackle that together later today. She’s a teenager, so still in bed now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Reinhard is darling! I love it. My husband loves to go to the hardware store, and he jokes about how I never want to come along for the fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Do you or your husband understand a bit of German? If so, then this song is just perfect for you. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s about men looking around in wonder in the stores, staring a screens and trying to decipher them and buying totally unnecesary stuff (‘for my wife’) then coming home to make things that, ultimately, break down… ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope my daughter’s bed holds up! I still have faith. ๐Ÿ™‚ In fairness, the things my husband has made do usually hold up, but then again he rarely attempts to make anything from scratch.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lol, viel Erfolg! Die Reinhard Mey lieder mag ich gerne, er bringt alles soooo schรถn auf den punkt!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

