More fangirling in London!

Well, not only fangirling, we mostly did touristy stuff… As I already blogged about in my previous post, my 15 year old son and I were in London this past weekend and what a lovely time we had!

We went inside Tower Bridge and walked on the glass floor there, looking down!

My son was fearless about that and while I did do it briefly, I found it scary. But I did it – yay me! We also saw the engine room…

20170421_125638_resized

… and when we finished our tour, we were greeted by a cannon salute across the river!

20170421_130341_resized

OK, so the salute wasn’t for us but for the Queen’s 91st birthday. Still, we felt honoured. πŸ™‚

We passed through Westminster…

20170421_144846_resized

… and went on to Portobello Road in Notting Hill…

20170421_153453_resized

… which was also a bit of fangirling for me as it reminded me of the lovely movie Notting Hill. The Notthing Hill thing was a spontaneous idea; if I had thought of it sooner, I would have researched it better and would have fangirled my way to Hugh Grant’s front door from that movie.

That evening my son and I went to see The Lion King musical, which we both very much enjoyed (we had a good view from the front row of the Grand Circle)…

While we were walking to the theatre, we passed by Covent Garden and walked by a street artist/comedian getting ready to do his thing. The street artist looked straight at my son and in his microphone announced “Ah, there we have Justin Bieber”! I had to laugh and the whole crowd turned to look at my son as we scurried along and my son turned beet-red! He has been compared to a younger Justin Bieber before and he hates it… I know I’m probably an awful mother but I have ribbed him about this incident regularly and in hindsight he now also has started seeing some of the humour in it.Β  He still insists he looks nothing like Bieber, though. πŸ™‚

We shopped a bit in Oxford Street and also met up with fellow Richard Armitage fan Hariclea from the Opera is Magic blog on Saturday afternoon! We met at “Fortnum and Mason” and had ice cream ‘coupes’ at the ice cream parlour on the first floor! Beautiful, delicious, filled our stomachs right up! So much so, that my son felt a little sick there for a moment! Luckily he recovered quickly. It’s always a delight to see Hari and it was so much fun that I forgot to take pictures of our beautiful ice cream creations! The only picture I took was of two teacups priced at Β£145,- while waiting for Hari…

20170422_165756_resized

Hari and I may have mentioned Richard Armitage a few times in passing but didn’t get too carried away in the presence of my son. That evening, as Hari went off to the theatre, my son and I went to see the Scarlett Johannson scifi movie Ghost in the Shell in a Leicester Square theatre with a truly huge screen. The movie was not the greatest scifi movie I’d ever seen, but it was quite fun and had nice visual effects.

We spent our Sunday on Hampstead Heath. We walked there for a bit, my son even climbed a tree…

20170423_114451_resized

… we got up to Kenwood House (also a Notting Hill film location, by the way!)…

… and treated ourselves to some delicious scones (this had been something my son had particularly wished for).

20170423_120200_resized

Later that afternoon we made our way back to the airport and flew home again. But I didn’t leave London without some specific fangirl items!

I’ve bought a DVD of a Gregory Peck movie I came across that I have always wanted to see but have never been able to…

20170426_000819_resized

I’m not that much into Westerns but, come on, it’s Gregory Peck, my first real teenage fangirl crush!

At Kenwood House I bought the book Belle that accompanies the excellent movie of the same name, about a black young lady who lived as a lady and not as a servant in Kenwood House in the 18th century. She was also featured in a painting that was painted at the time but alas that painting is not at Kenwood anymore and is now somewhere in Scotland. I had seen the film, I now saw the book and grabbed it for myself…

20170426_001047_resized

And, I did some more Jane Eyre fangirling when, in a bookstore, I happend upon a book with this title…

20170421_101536_resized

I immediately recognized it as the first sentence from the last chapter of Jane Eyre and just had to have it, especially considering we will be visiting writer Charlotte BrontΓ«’s house this coming summer.

Last but not least, there was Audrey Hepburn fangirling as well! I came across this POP doll of Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’sΒ  and just couldn’t let it go…

So, yes, London is a great place to fangirl; it makes me feel greedy when I see all these goodies together even though they all didn’t cost that much. London is also a great place to spend time with my son! He picked out pretty much all our activities (Portobello Road and meeing Hari were my picks, the rest were his) and I loved that one-on-one time with him. I think that, except for my snoring at night, he enjoyed his time with me as well. We’ll definitely be back!

21 thoughts on “More fangirling in London!

  1. You and your son are blessed to have each other and to have created such nice memories. I miss my mother every day and often think about the trip we took as a family for the Bicentennial – just a few years ago. *cough*

    Anyway, your purchases are delightful. That Audrey Hepburn Funko Pop is fabulous! Thanks for mentioning ‘Reader, I Married Him’; I’ll have to read it now. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, there’s an Audrey Hepburn Funko Pop. That’s mildly dumbfounding πŸ™‚
    Did Mr. Son like the scones? That’s the way I like them, too. Sounds like a fantastic trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I was dumbfounded for a moment there as well! I have more Audrey Hepburn memorabilia around the house, figured I needed this one too. πŸ™‚
      Mr. Son loved the scones and so did I. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. That sounds like a great mother/son trip. My younger son is just the same age.
    The Notting Hill movie was of course where I saw Rhys Ifans (Hector DeJean) for the first time… quite a different character!
    I enjoyed Belle too. I think I saw it on Netflix. The book should be interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a fun trip! I am intrigued by Belle and would like to see the film as well as the house. I have “Reader, I married him,” and will be interested to see what you make of the stories. They were not quite what I expected, but they did give me food for thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope to read that before the summer and our visit to Haworth. πŸ™‚
      I happened upon the Belle film a while ago (I think on TV) and was instantly intrigued. You really should watch it if you can. Kenwood House is a museum now, with art to admire on their walls. I already knew the house, this story that had happened there was a surprise to me. The film does take liberties apparently, but I really liked it nonetheless.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks like a brilliant trip! And I must say – your son can count himself lucky to have such a great mother. All those nice things you did together, mostly his choices. You will have created a memory for him that he will look back on forever. “That time I went to London with my mum”. Sounds just great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If not a for him, at least it will always be a fond memory for me. πŸ™‚ But yeah, I hope he’ll look back on this with pleasure as well in later years. And forgive me my snoring. πŸ˜‰
      In two years time, when my daughter does the same trip with her class, I will repeat the experience with her. I’m already looking forward to it!

      Like

      • I’m pretty sure he *will* remember it fondly, even before he is a pensioner ;-). I’ve noticed in my kids, that they have become very appreciative of the things I organised for them. Between the ages of 10 and 14, I took my son two several open air music festivals. Camping, music, just the two of us (and 6000 other hippies). Now 18, he often mentions those festival weekends.
        Is your daughter already envious? At least she has something to look forward to πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • “Even before he is a pensioner” – LOL! Thanks for the reassurance. πŸ™‚
          Yes, my daughter was really envious, she really wanted to come too. In two years it’ll be her turn, but she hates having to wait that long.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Have you ever read ” An Assembly Such as This” by Pamela Aidan? Of all the P & P sequels, “fan fiction types_ this is the best. It is the exact story – but from Darcy’s viewpoint instead of Elizabeth’s, so the author gives us more plot – but nothing that changes the original. It’s great fun, and available on Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sieht nach einem tollen Wochenende aus! Neid ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounded like you had an amazing time! Your post made me even more excited to visit at the end of the month.

    Like

Leave a Reply

