Spider’s Web

I was drinking a lovely red Merlot wine and eating cheese with my husband last night while we were both reading; Mr Esther on his iPad and me on my laptop. We put on some music and for the first time in a very long time listened to Katie Melua’s 2005 album Piece By Piece. I used to love that album, I listened to it all the time until I had heard it too often and it fell out of a grace. Until last night, that is. Mr. Esther picked it as a piece of easy listening while we were reading and I was reminded again why I had loved this album so much in the past. I don’t know Katie Melua’s more recent work but I find I do still love this, full of warmth and love and perfect for a quiet evening (yep, get it if you can, lots of beautiful gentle songs on it!). I felt my heart open up to it all over again as I let Melua’s lovely voice, the beautiful music and the thoughtful lyrics wash over me.

Katie Melua

Every time I listen to that album I pick a different song as my favourite and last night the song ‘Spider’s Web’ struck a chord. Some of the lyrics…

“I could tell you to go to war,
Or I could march for peace and fighting no more,
How do I know which is right?
And I hope he does when he sends you to fight!
Because the line between wrong and right,
Is the width of a thread from a spider’s web.
The piano keys are black and white,
But they sound like a million colors in your mind.”

I especially love the point she makes about the piano keys. I find that analogy so beautiful!

Melua wrote that song when she was just 18 years old apparently, it was about the Iraq war and it still feels very topical to me. This song underlines my belief that the world isn’t just black and white and that even if we don’t have all the answers, there is still always a hope of living together in peace and with the diversity of a million colours. Not too shabby for an Easter / beginning of spring message of hope, right?

11 thoughts on “Spider’s Web

  1. Ich mag sie auch unglaublich gerne! Sie hat eine unglaubliche Stimme und sie hat mit ihren Texten etwas zu sagen. Ich kann sie auch immer wieder gerne hören, sie wird nie langweilig ❤
    Spiders webb kannte ich noch nicht, glaube ich 🙂 Danke für den Tip!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, I didn’t know that song from her. Katie Malua ist great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice. I hadn’t heard of her before.

    Liked by 1 person

    • She’s only known in the UK, Germany and The Netherlands, I think. Totally worth a listen, though. I think her most famous song is ‘Nine Million Bicycles’ (at least it was here in The Netherlands).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m for peace whatever the soundtrack … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Danke für die Erinnerung. Der Schatz und ich, wir mögen Katie sehr und hören ihre Musik immer wieder gerne. Ich hoffe, dass du mit deiner Familie eine schöne Osterzeit erlebst.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] I have mentioned so far, maybe it’s what I most needed as a new mum. 😉 I already once blogged about the Spider’s Web song from that album. The most famous song from that album is probably “Nine Million Bicycles” but I have […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

