Esther-Daddy Day

This evening the Jewish festival of Purim starts, celebrating the Persian Queen Esther who saved the Jewish people from genocide some 2500 years ago. My parents gave my siblings and me names from the Hebrew bible (old testament). So, my brothers and sisters are called: Rachel, David, Daniel (in fairness, Daniel wasn’t named by my parents; he came to our family age 11 and fit right in, name and all!), Joel, Rebecca and Jonathan. And then there’s me, Esther, named after Queen Esther herself! Hence also the title of this blog – I am named after the biblical queen in The Book of Esther and books tells stories, which in a way I do here as well, sharing stories and experiences in my life.

My parents always enjoyed giving me Queen Esther themed gifts. Many of them I don’t have anymore, or are scattered throughout the house and I don’t know where they are, but I do have two paintings still hanging on my walls here. One of the them, called “The town of  Queen Esther” was painted/printed by an acquaintance my parents had many years ago…

Queen Esther 2

It’s not my fave painting ever, but I like it enough to keep on my staircase wall.

A second piece of art I own hangs in my living room and was once given to me by my parents. It’s an absolutely fascinating ink drawing they got me when we were all visiting the artistic town of Tzfat (Safed) once in the north of Israel…

Queen Esther 1

If you look closely you’ll see that the figure of Esther and the pillars next to her are made up of tiny Hebrew lettering. We were told that the whole text of the Book of Esther is worked into this ink drawing! I just love this. This drawing is not only connected to my name and that bible story, it is also forever connected to my parents who picked it out for me. I can still see myself standing outside this artist’s atelier together with my parents, deciding on this particular work of art.

Tomorrow is not only Purim, the festival of Esther, but is also the second anniversary of the passing of my father. I am happy to have such mementoes as this one that keep me connected to him. So, as this evening/tomorrow is the happy festival of Purim as well as a day during which I commemorate my dad, I am dubbing March 12th, 2017 “Esther-Daddy Day”!

According to Jewish custom you say “May his memory be for a blessing!” and I can honestly say that although I will miss him forever, my father’s memory truly is a blessing. For tomorrow I wish for my family and myself to be filled with not only sad but also many happy memories and in Yiddish I wish to those who celebrate (my Jewish brother and sister among them) “A freilichen Purim”!

7 thoughts on “Esther-Daddy Day

  1. Zichronoh lebrachah and alav hashalom and of course chag purim sameach!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Serv.
      Are you dressing up for Purim? Just saw an awesome pic of my brother as a vampire, I hardly recognized him.

      Like

      • No, but I’ll go to hear the megillah when the Sabbath ends. Around here it’s more of a thing kids do.

        Like

        • When I was a kid I used to dress up as *gasp* Queen Esther every year for our school Purim party (yeah, it was a Christian international school but Purim party was a must…)
          The megillah reading will be fun! Make some noise! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Esther: good choice!

    This is going to be a weird year. I don’t have a good temperature reading on the synagogue here in town yet (admittedly, I haven’t been going all that often). But for my Tampa peeps, the Esther story is key to how they are understanding current politics. Will be interesting to see if that reproduces itself here or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like both of your pictures, especially the one with the tiny writing to form the image. What a treasure!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

