And it was all yellow…

The new ‘Mach was’ (‘Do something’) challenge is to do something with the colour yellow. When I read that, two things instantly flashed through my mind simultaneously.

One thing that flashed through my head was the Coldplay song ‘Yellow’ that I really like…

And the other thing that flashed through my head was “Israel photo books”! I had made two photo books of a special trip to Israel back in the fall of 2008 and, as where we’d been to had been warm and sunny, I had chosen to have all the photos printed on a yellow background…

yellow2yellow1

A little personal history: I was born in Jerusalem and lived in a village just outside Jerusalem until I was 10 years old. I have very clear and very happy memories of my childhood there and I have been back to Israel 6 or 7 times after we moved away. My oldest brother moved back there at the end of the 1990s and now lives there in the south, in the desert, just above Eilat. My brother and his family are Jewish and in 2008 the eldest son did his bar-mitzvah in the kibbutz where they live. For the first time since we had left there in 1980 we were all back in Israel as a family to celebrate my nephew’s bar-mitzvah. It was a special trip with my parents, my brothers and sisters (I have 7 brothers and sisters, of whom 4 are adopted) and our kids, and my aunt. I made these photo books for everyone after we returned from our trip and I still look at them regularly. I associate yellow, sun and warmth (not only weather-wise, but warmth of feeling as well) with that trip. That trip was all about reliving our childhood memories. Here a few pages from my yellow photo books…

For instance, pictures of my old school in Jerusalem. My dad used to drop us off at school before he went to work in the mornings and in the afternoons we’d go home to the village we lived in (3km outside Jerusalem) by bus…

yellow3

Or the “monster” we used to play on a lot. My parents would go to a nearby shopping center once a week to get groceries and we kids would stay and play at this playground on the “monster” (a sculpture by French artist Nikki de Saint-Phalle) until they picked us up again…

yellow4

We used to go to the old city of Jerusalem a lot, my dad’s office was just outside Zion gate, not far from the Western Wall. It was special taking my kids there…

… with the Church of the Holy Sepulchre (the place where Jesus is supposed to have been crucified) not too far off either…

yellow7

Alas we were not able to visit the Al Aqsa mosque that year (it is often closed to visitors for fear of attacks) but the golden Dome of the Rock next to it is always beautiful, glittering in the sun, just like on the first picture I shared above.

During that trip in 2008 we stayed at the guesthouse of the convent right near our old house. As kids we used to be at the convent all the time, we were good friends with the nuns there, and it was so special actually staying there with my own kids, sharing the memories. My oldest brother, who died age 7 a year before I was born, is buried in that convent and we had a little ceremony for him while we were all there together…

yellow9

We visited our old house. When you approach our old, very red, house from the front, you have to walk this narrow path till you get to the gate of ‘our’ front garden. They were renovating the house when we were there and we were allowed to come in and visit. These pics are of the approach to our house and the back of the house…

Inside the house, right at the center which was also the living room (the bedrooms surround the central living room area), there is an old olive press. I remembered it as something huge, but standing next to it as a grown up, it felt really quite small to me…

We were also able to enter my old bedroom that I had shared with my younger brother and sister the last few years we lived there. I remember loving to stare out of my bedroom window, I had a great view over the valley from there…

The walk from our old house to the few little shops in the center of the village is only a few minutes and when I captured my daughter skipping down the short central pedestrian street in the village, it brought back many memoires of me skipping there in the same way as a child.

yellow23

In the old days when we lived there, there was no checkpoint between Jerusalem and Bethlehem like there is nowadays (including a horrendous wall!). On Sundays, after we had gone to church in Jerusalem, we’d often drive to Bethlehem and have a falafel there in this small place on Manger Square, where the Church of the Nativity is situated. The tiny falafel place is gone, but the Church is of course still there. The entrance door to the church was made very small a long time ago during the Ottoman empire so that people wouldn’t just enter the church on horseback… or it’s small because that means that everyone entering it needs to automatically bow, leaving all egos at the door…

Jerusalem itself is in the hills but when your drive out of Jerusalem to the south you soon head down and into the desert. In the south you get to the Dead Sea…

yellow11

… and after a few hours you get to the kibbutz my brother lives at. It’s all rock desert, and orange and ochre and dark yellow down there…

And even inside where the bar-mitzvah for my nephew was held, the walls are yellow…

yellow16

So, yeah, the colour yellow is inextricably tied to Israel for me. There is even a very well known Hebrew song called “Yerushalayim shel Zahav” (“Jerusalem of Gold”), so I am not the only one with this association. 🙂

13 thoughts on “And it was all yellow…

  1. What an amazing post and a series of such meaningful landscapes not just for the world, but for you, too. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a very complicated place, but I do love it there. Jerusalem to me is the most fascinating city. The diversity is astounding and the sense of history is almost overwhelming. It has the old next to the new and people of all colours and religions and national backgrounds.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your great pics and memories with us!!!! A great #Machwas!-Post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing, Esther !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You can listen to the song: “Mellow Yellow”/ Donovan/ 01/01/1967

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

