#BlueMonday?

We were having dinner this evening and my daughter made a few jokes at the dinner table adding #BlueMonday to everything she said. Someone just finished the guacamole before I could heap on a second helping? Awww, Blue Monday! My son has trouble swallowing because his throat aches (poor boy has the flu)? Awww, Blue Monday! The cats are hungry? Awww, Blue Monday! You get the drift…

So, Blue Monday is supposed to be the most depressing day of the year, usually the 3rd Monday in January, which it is today. It got me thinking: is today really extra depressing?

Well, I won’t mention politics because that really is very depressing. Any time Donald Trump opens his mouth or posts a tweet my political depression and fear for the future deepens. And the populist far right threatens to get more control here too…

marine-le-pen-geert-wilders-frauke-petry-far-right-populist-europe-elections-cartoon

Our local music and arts school did have this ad poster that made me laugh…

20170111_143704

The first time I drove by this I was wondering who on earth was advertising for Donald Trump’s hair piece! As Jane Austen so fittingly said in Pride and Prejudice: “For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbors, and laugh at them in our turn?”. Little things like this do lighten my political depression a teeny bit.

What is also depressing is that this past week I was reminded that it was a year ago that both my hero David Bowie and Alan Rickman passed away… I was able to pick myself up by listening to Bowie songs and here at our house we have started re-watching the Harry Potter movies. My goodness, Alan Rickman really was such a brilliant Professor Snape!

rickman-bowie

These two men have left a great legacy.

On the personal #BlueMonday front – while I have had several job interviews I haven’t actually landed a steady new job yet. I have done a little bit of freelance work that has paid me very little and I do enjoy volunteer-teaching my small Dutch class every Monday morning (I teach 3 Polish ladies and an Italian man), but I wish for something more permanent with the job situation. Keep at it and keep trying, I guess. Something will turn up… I’m just so sick of applying for jobs… Just hire me already, I’m worth it! (I hope).

Also, today (after the Dutch class I taught) I spent the day helping my sick son get through writing an economics paper that was due today at the end of the day. I really do not enjoy economics, even though I realize that it basically rules the world. In fact, in today’s increasingly populist world, economics seem more important than human rights… and that depresses me too. #BlueMonday.

And Richard Armitage seems to have fallen off (or has possibly skied off) the edge of the earth. All mention of the Miles movie is gone, there are no announcements of new projects, no tweets. After a year of lots of news it feels so quiet all of a sudden. #BlueMonday. Luckily there are photos like this one to look back at (me)…

ra-love-shoesra-rj-audiobook-banner

And yet, this #BlueMonday I also have very happy things to think of! In 10 days my husband and I will be celebrating 25 years together. We’ll go out for dinner on the date itself and then early March we have booked 3 days away in Brussels for just the two of us. I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to that! And speaking of trips – the only positive thing about Brexit for me personally is that, because the pound has dropped in England, it is cheaper for us to go there. So, making use of that, we have just booked a holiday ferry to the UK for this summer! We’ll be going to Yorkshire and surroundings for 3 weeks with our caravan and I will finally finally get to visit Haworth Parsonage where the Brontë sisters lived!

So, with these things to look forward to, this #BlueMonday is not quite as blue as it could have been! And for the optimistic #BlueMonday reader out there I’d like to give you the chance to dance along to the ‘Blue Monday’ song by New Order (here in the 1988 remix version). Or it could cheer you up if you are feeling extra blue after all…

And as it’s apparently also Martin Luther King Day, let me leave you with this quote:

img_20170116_203738

12 thoughts on “#BlueMonday?

  1. Hi Esther, Wishing you and your husband a very Happy 25th Anniversary! And enjoy your trip! Best wishes on your new job hunt, too! Hugs & Cheers! Grati ;->

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t believe your 25th is coming up so soon! I’m so glad you’re getting away.
    Didn’t Duran Duran sing Blue Monday? Was it a remake?

    Es you ARE worth it. Someday soon the perfect employer will see how amazing you are.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Enjoy your trip, Esther!
    You’re right: politics is so depressing (not Le Pen again!….)
    I feel the same about ” I’m just so sick of applying for jobs… Just hire me already, I’m worth it!”. Tired of applying too. I’m having a little break right now (had to stop to heal myself…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, first you had daddy Le Pen, now you have the daughter…. Here Geert Wilders gives me the absolute chills.
      Sorry you’re not having luck with jobs either. For me it’s ‘only’ been 5 months without and while I don’t mind the down time I would prefer actually working more than I do now.
      Thanks for the trip wishes! I hope the next 6 weeks just fly by… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ditto on the job front, although I’ve just about made a decision to change direction there. And of course, ditto on the politics. But I love the idea of the Yorkshire vacation! That sounds like a lot of fun.

    People in my life seem to struggle most with the blues in February, or maybe it’s just that I notice it more because that’s always the worst month for me. I can feel the pre-birthday mood death spiral starting already.

    Like

    • I get a bit of the winter blues myself although it’s not set to a month like yours is. Hope it doesn’t get too bad for you this time around.

      I’ve been wanting to do Yorkshire for sooooo long now, so glad it’s finally happening myself. 🙂

      Good luck with the job thing for you! Keeping fingers crossed.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh 25 year anniversary sounds lovely and you have perfect sounding plans!
    Sorry about the job search, winter is meh for that especially around holidays, i will cross my fingers that things improve soon and something will come up asap!
    The Yorkshire journey sounds amazing, i am envious! Reminds me i need to see if i can point you to the film about the Brontes the BBC aired over Xmas, really wonderful and well made and amazing views of the moors. And by the way if you do go to Yorkshire you must, must, must drop by Betty’s in York! If you have time you should do afternoon tea there, if not at least get some baked good to take away. The very very best of tradition and utterly delicious!
    https://www.bettys.co.uk/tea-rooms/locations/york
    I miss having to travel for work in the area. Ah and if time you should visit Ripon cathedral and beautiful Harrogate 🙂 And if you do stop by in Ripon to see the cathedral so stop across the road for tea or great food in the very very old parish house from the 1600, now a wonderful hotel, http://www.theolddeanery.co.uk/ It used to be my home away from home 🙂
    Oh getting all nostalgic here and wishing to see the lovely yellow rapeseed fields and the green, it’s a stunning place in summer, you’ll love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for all the wonderful tips! We’ll be compiling a list and all of these will go on that and then we’ll see what we will pick and choose. I’ve been to York before but that was only for a day or so 20 years ago.
      And yes, I saw that Brontë sisters film by the BBC, I really enjoyed it.
      Thanks also for the job wishes. Good vibes always help. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. 25 Jahre!! Herzliche Glückwünsche an Euch beide ❤ das ist lange, v.a wenn man immer noch glücklich miteinander ist 🙂 Ich hoffe, Ihr habt einen wunderschönen Kurzurlaub miteinander!
    Das mit dem Job ist frustrierend, man kann ja auch nicht wirklich Pläne machen, wegen der Probezeit. es könnte ja immer sein man bekommt den Job und kann dann nicht in den urlaub fahren.
    New Order fand ich auch immer gut, und das Lied das danach kommt auch…. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

