Spicy… or steamy?

It’s been a while since I joined in Herba’s and Pö’s “Mach was” challenge and I really didn’t want to miss another one. When I looked at the latest challenge I was admittedly stumped… do something with spices (Gewürze)? Herba’s reminder finally got me into gear. I want to do this and I can do this! Or so I told myself before my stream-of-consciousness thinking kicked into gear…

As much as I enjoy eating food, and looking at food, and occasionally even reading about food, I do not enjoy cooking or baking that much. It’s something that is necessary to daily life but not so much fun for me to actually do. My husband enjoys it more than I do, so more often than not he is the one who (creatively) cooks at our house… Ergo: not much for me to blog about on that subject… On to the next step – do I even have a favourite spice? Garlic! I love fresh garlic in my food but is garlic even a spice? And does that even interest me enough to research? Not really… So, nope, I won’t be posting about cooking or favourite spices…  It’s just not me.

So, I started a little free association on Google using the words “Gewürz” and “spice” but nothing interesting came up. I don’t want to do anything with “Maggi Würze”, a seasoning sauce that I don’t think I have ever used but is quite famous…

Maggi_Wuerzflaschenplakat_A1_ok.indd

… I have never been a huge fan of the “Spice Girls”. They were fine, they had some very catchy tunes, I just never was a fan…

… and I wasn’t that interested in doing a “spicy movies” research project either (my recent Hallmark movies research project was more than enough). By the way, when I type “spicy movies” into Google image search the first images that appear are about Indian spicy movies…I had no idea that was a thing, but apparently it is?

spicy-scene-indian-movie

This brings me to a movie called The Mistress of Spices that I vaguely recall wanting to see way back when, but that I still haven’t watched yet… I do adore this picture of Aishwarya Rai smelling spices, though! For that alone I may actually watch it. 🙂

One of the searches I did resulted in “Old Spice” info and I thought, “why not combine that result with fave actor Richard Armitage”? And that did bring up something interesting! Apparently there is this commercial for “Old Spice” body wash…

… and someone decided to make this spoof of that commercial, with Richard Armitage as Guy of Gisborne in it…

I find the commercial annoying but combined with images of Armitage, almost anything is OK!

I went on to search for “spicy Richard Armitage”, but the results, while sweet, alas weren’t that spicy…

spicy-richard-armitage

This would fit the spicy Richard bill better, I think…

Hmm, I think I am starting to mix up spicy and steamy here…

See? I am no good at writing about spices! And it’s starting to get a little hot in here… Maybe it’s time to move on to the next “Mach was” challenge! 😉

12 thoughts on “Spicy… or steamy?

  1. Steamy indeed! I saw that “Mistress of Spices” movie, and liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was funny and spicy and steamy! Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a spicy little trail.

    I would have taken part but I couldn’t think of anything. This part of the world tends to be anti-spice.

    Like

  4. Hilarious! I love the Old Spice video with RA as the Old Spice man!
    (And I feel the same as you about cooking. I cook because we have to eat, not because I like to cook.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh, so sorry i missed the challenge! I love spice and am on a continuous quest to learn more and use more, especially in cooking 🙂 Oh well, maybe i will do a post about that sometimes.
    That movie looks interesting and i did thin the guy at the back of the imagine looked familiar.. McDermmmmot, nice, need to check it out.
    And that Guy of Gis Old Spice is hilarious! But then again he always is and never gets ‘old’.
    And i do hope his spicy vein continues for a little while longer, it’s quite enjoyable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

