Daughter, aunt and sisters

Today is a special day in my family: on this 19th of December my daughter shares her 13th birthday with my aunt’s 80th birthday! My daughter and my aunt are always tickled pink by the idea that they share a birthday, which is so sweet, and for my aunt this 80th one is of course extra special. Family has come from abroad to celebrate her 80th, so the 13th birthday celebration we had for my daughter was delightfully extra busy as well this year.

Teenagerhood officially begins for my daughter today, although, between you and me, I think she started teenagerhood early. πŸ˜‰ She’s a kooky, feisty and fun kid and I adore her…

This year she is into Christmas more than ever before and she walks around the house wearing that Christmas hat all day. πŸ™‚ Every year on her birthday I think of the day she entered our lives and I am so happy to have her!

My daughter’s birthday party was on Saturday at my house and my aunt’s birthday party was yesterday, on Sunday, at a small venue. My aunt celebrated with a high tea, inviting her friends and us, her family (consisting of my mother, 7 kids, some in-law kids and some grandkids). My aunt never married or had kids, but she has us!

There were speeches and presentations for my aunt’s 80th and I made my small contribution as well. My contribution was dedicated to the close sisterhood my aunt and my mother (she is only a year and a month older) share. They are very different from each other but nonetheless have always supported each other through thick and thin. They call each other every day, albeit it ever so shortly, and really are very devoted sisters. Both my mother and aunt love movies, it is through them that my love for the movies was encouraged. So, when I think of these two sisters and link that to old movies, one song always springs to my mind. It’s from the 1954 movie White Christmas starring Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye, Vera-Ellen and Rosemary Clooney (the aunt of George). The song is called “Sisters” and I edited a video that I presented at the party on Sunday (FYI, the last shot I blurred for online use).

It gave the party as much amusement as it did me putting this together! What made this extra fitting was that, just like in these movie clips, the real life sisters were wearing matching outfits as well (my mother on the left, my aunt on the right)…

match

It was a busy, tiring but very happy and heartwarming weekend for us, made extra special because my two brothers and a nephew who live abroad could also be there.

Happy birthday to my very beloved daughter and my very dear aunt!

12 thoughts on “Daughter, aunt and sisters

  1. What fun! I love that “Sisters” song, and especially that version of it πŸ™‚ Happy Birthdays!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is so fun!! Shared birthdays are pretty cool…I share one with my mom – my sister insists she can’t compete with the “best birthday present” my mom ever got! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lovely and fun celebration! thanks for sharing with us and lucky to be able to gather the family around you for such an occasion πŸ™‚ I shared my birthday with my own grandma as well, so there are lots of lovely memories as well πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sorry, I´m late 😦 Happy birthday to both of them and hugs for all of you ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

