To Audrey with love

Today, in the Netherlands, is Sinterklaas, the feast of St. Nicholas. It’s quite a big deal here if your kids are under a certain age (I described the festival last year here on my blog, in case you’re interested in knowing more). My kids are now almost 13 and 15 and the need for an elaborate Sinterklaas celebration has evaporated. However, we do have a few very small gifts that we’ll exchange later and I already know what one of them is for me: a little booklet about Audrey Hepburn, obtained at an exhibition I went to last Friday!

I have a bit of a thing for Audrey Hepburn… I fell in love with her the first time I saw her in Roman Holiday as a teenager. That movie provided me with my favourite actor (Gregory Peck) for many years, before I knew of Colin Firth or Richard Armitage and it ‘gave me’ Audrey. I think I have seen pretty much every movie she has made and, although I wouldn’t call myself an Audrey Hepburn collector, I have collected or received some special Audrey items over the years. I am known in my family for loving her, after all. 🙂

I have several books about her and I visited her grave site to the north east of Geneva in Switzerland many years ago (see the picture below on top of my small book collection).

ah-books

Every evening I have dinner with my family and with Richard and Audrey as well (see my one dining room wall):

dining-with-richard-and-audrey

I even have a tea set with images from my favourite movie Roman Holiday on it and a Roman Holiday mints tin, sitting proudly in my living room (and a Roman Holiday poster in my bedroom but no pics of that available right now)

Roman Holiday tea set

So, when my mother recently told me there would be an exhibition featuring Audrey Hepburn, I was so there! We went last week… The exhibition in Den Haag is dedicated to the fashion designer Hubert de Givenchy, who was Audrey’s go-to fashion designer. His clothes were also worn by other famous women like Jackie Kennedy, Wallis Simpson or Grace Kelly. The exhibition was about all of his work, but a large portion was dedicated to Audrey. I’m not a ‘fashion-person’, so for me the main attraction was Audrey and not Hubert. Also, the exhibition is titled ‘To Audrey with Love’, so I just really had to go!

My favourite room was this one room where they had big screens showing a few scenes from Audrey’s movies next to the displays of the actual dresses she had worn in those movies! The most dresses shown were from Breakfast at Tiffany’s (excuse the graininess, pics were taken with my phone)…

ah-breakfast-at-tiffanys-dress2ah-breakfast-at-tiffanys-dress3

There was a dress on display from How To Steal a Million

ah-how-to-steal-a-million-dress

Or the first collaboration between Hubert de Givenchy and Audrey Hepburn for Sabrina

ah-sabrina-dress

Apparently De Givenchy also designed both of Audrey’s wedding dresses. The first was from her marriage to Mel Ferrer…

… and the second dress from her marriage to Andrea Dotti…

There were also single dresses from Wallis Simpson, Jackie Kennedy and Grace Kelly on display and lots of other dresses, but I didn’t take pictures of those. There was a room dedicated to Audrey Hepburn’s work for Unicef, which really touched me. Part of the proceeds from this exhibition will also be going to Unicef. Even after her passing, she is still raising money for a good cause… yes, she was a special woman!

audrey-hepburn-unicef

At the very end of the exhibition I could pretend to be Audrey Hepburn’s character Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s. The outfit was on display…

… and I was able to try on a replica hat myself! I don’t look nearly as charming as Audrey did, but it was fun!

Yes, going to this exhibiton was time well spent. 🙂

13 thoughts on “To Audrey with love

  1. That picture is a neat souvenir idea — thanks for the interesting post about your history of interest in Ms Hepburn. I love the Roman Holiday tea set in particular.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sie war eine unglaubliche Frau, mir geht es wie Dir, sie hat meine uneingeschränkte Bewunderung ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How delightful! I’m happy for you. Audrey Hepburn sure was a charming lady; very talented and caring. Her experiences during WWII marked her for life but instead of being bitter about it, she dedicated her life to serving others – especially children. I love her movies. The camera worshipped her but it wasn’t just her beauty that made her stand out. She was luminous and had “it”, as we say here in the USA; that ‘je ne sais quoi’ that casting agents look for in an actor. We all know she made some movies that are now considered classics, of course, but my favorite one is Funny Face. It has a great plot, she was funny, wore fabulous outfits and got to dance with Fred Astaire! I’m smiling just thinking about it. Happy Sinterklaas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Our Sinterklaas celebration was short but sweet. 🙂
      Oh yes, she definitely had ‘it’! My fave movies of hers are Roman Holiday (as I have often mentioned before), Breakfast at Tiffany’s and The Nun’s Story. And yes, I really enjoy Funny Face as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, your hat picture! You look really great in that hat. And what a great idea, to create such a brilliant souvenir for visitors.
    Audrey is just wonderful. I saw an exhibition of photos of her in London last year – she was just beautiful. And the fashion which Givenchy created for her, is so classy. Always worth looking at!
    Happy Sinterklaas! (Thanks for the reminder… must wrap pressies for the kids now and get them ready to wait outside their doors for them in the morning…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have quite a large head but even on me that thing was huge!
      Yes, I know about that London exhibit, would have loved to see it! Did the next best thing and ordered the catalogue (book on the right in that book pic). 🙂
      Hope your kids like their Nikolaus gifts. 🙂

      Like

  5. Another year is almost over and I still haven’t seen an Audrey Hepburn film.
    The shame!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

