Colin at the London BJ premiere

And I was right, the man looked dashing at the Bridget Jones’s Baby premiere last night!

He also took a little time for his fans…

I always love seeing Colin Firth with his wife Livia. Before she went to the premiere, Livia (an eco-warrior for sustainable fashion) posted a video on her Instagram about her choice of outfit.

 

Then later she shared this snap of her and Colin on the pink carpet…

BJ premiere-CFLF (4)

… but I found many more cute shots of the couple together!

I love the way she looks at Colin here, and he at her. It’s so lovely seeing an ‘old married couple’ like that look comfortable and apparently still happy together! A man with a good marriage is very sexy… There are bound to be ups and downs after so many years together but ultimately they stick together because he knows how to make his woman happy and she knows how to make him happy. I find that extremely appealing. ♥

Emma Thompson (credited as co-writer, but I think mostly for her own character) was also there with her daughter Gaia. This woman always exudes irrepressible glee, I just love her! Emma apparently steals the show in the scenes she’s in, which I can very well imagine, judging from what I have seen in trailers.

And here’s a shot of the main cast (Patrick Dempsey, Renee Zellweger and Colin of course)

BJ premiere-CFRZMD (4)

I also found a nice little interview with Colin HERE (filmed a few days before the premiere during the press junket) about the movie, his co stars and if there could be even more Bridget Jones movies.

What maybe pleases me most, however, is that my go-to movie magazine “Empire” gives this latest Bridget Jones movie a 4 star review!  They say: “Though the story occasionally stretches credibility, the warmth and wit so reminiscent of the original Bridget Jones’s Diary propels you along, being due in large part to the return of one woman: director Sharon Maguire. […] While the dynamic between Zellweger and Firth is as solid as ever, her pairing with Dempsey never delivers; him playing a one-note nice guy with a megawatt smile.” This means, I hope, that Bridget wisely chooses Mark Darcy in the end! Empire’s final verdict: “More than a match for the original, the third outing for Bridget has a solid story with holes you’ll forgive thanks to the much-missed onscreen magic created by a director and her leading woman.

I have since read a few more positive reviews, looks like this movie may not be such a disaster after all! Fingers crossed that I’ll feel that way as well when I see it (I still feel nothing can touch the first BJ movie) and that this is the worthy sequel the second BJ movie never was.

7 thoughts on “Colin at the London BJ premiere

  1. Fun pix all around. And how about that Emma! She’s very glam!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Was für ein schönes Paar (und die Schuhe!!!!) aber auch Emma Thompson sieht großartig aus, mit der Frau würde ich wirklich gerne mal einen Kaffee trinken 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. He looks great. I can’t get over how he looks in that suit. And BTW, don’t you think that Emma Thompson has just gotten so much more stylish and attractive in her later years? Every time I have seen her in the last few years I am amazed at the transformation. I thought she was a bit mousy looking when she was younger ( though still with a beautifully interesting face). She just changed her whole vibe.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

