Sickened… & finding a happy place

The news these days is awful and I find myself dreading to switch on the news every morning, dreading what awful thing has happened now… awful awful bombing in Baghdad, hostage situation and killings in Dhaka, another bomb in Medina… and here in the West people keep on blaming ‘those muslims’ for it all and reporting on these tragedies is nothing compared the reporting we had on Orlando or Brussels or Paris a year ago. Why? Has the West really become so bigoted against Muslims they can’t even report on tragedies that befall them? Not only the bombings make me sick, rampant Western xenophobia makes me sick too… People like Geert Wilders and Trump and Farage make me sick… I came across a Banksy graffiti picture the other day which expresses it perfectly!

150416banksyUKIP

I’m so depressed over the news, I find myself trying to hide away from it… not that that helps and changes anything, of course… All I have been able to blog about this past week or two is politics, even though this blog is not intended to be political – at all! It just feels like the world is turning upside down and I feel totally powerless! For instance, I see in a poll today that Trump is only 3 points behind Hillary for winning the US presidential election – will he catch up and will something inconceivable happen in the US (like Brexit was to me in the UK)? Ugh, here I go, feeling sick again…I fear for the future so very much!

I need to get back to some happy places in my blog-life, to counterbalance the political worries in real-life. So, I need to stop blogging about politics for a while. I hope I can. Let me start here… See this Audrey Hepburn picture? It makes me smile, was on my Twitter timeline today:

Audrey & dog on bike

And this tweet also makes me happy, from a few days ago:

Richard’s hair is growing longer, I love it! Here let me crop him out for closer study…

RA vo work Soho Sonic 1-7-2016 crop

Oh, and there is a new Bridget Jones trailer! I really don’t like the “who’s the baby’s daddy” premise for this movie and I do wonder whether it was smart to make another Bridget movie, but I do admit that I had to chuckle quite a few times when I first saw this. I think I loved Colin Firth’s sour face most and I loved Emma Thompson too. She’s in it and seems to be stealing the show for all the scenes she’s in…

If Bridget doesn’t end up with Mark Darcy (Colin Firth) forever at the end of this movie, then the ‘world has turned upside down’ feeling will be complete. But for now, I will try to keep on smiling.

6 thoughts on “Sickened… & finding a happy place

  1. I’ll say one political thing — this is probably the best poll to watch: https://projects.fivethirtyeight.com/2016-election-forecast/?ex_cid=2016-election He’s been very accurate over the last three election cycles. Note that what this is a probability statistic — it asks what the odds are, if they ran the election. Right now four of every five times Hilary would win (different than a poll that asks what the results would be on any given day).

    re: getting back to your happy place, I’m struggling with this at the moment too, because politics isn’t raelly an unhappy place for me but I would not like a fandom where most of what we did was discuss politics (I have other friends for that purpose, lol).

    Like

    • Thanks fot the link! This is luckily more hopeful for Hilary. I’ll bookmark it and check back. 🙂
      Politics isn’t necessarily an unhappy place for me but lately it has been… and yeah, here I want to get back to talking about other stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the Audrey picture 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Du hast recht, Banksy trifft immer genau den richtigen Nerv! Genau aus diesem Grund mag ich seine Bilder so ❤ Die Nachrichten sind zum verzweifeln, man könnte meinen es gibt nichts Positives mehr in der Welt……
    aber wenn man genau hinschaut, im Privatleben oder in Deinem Umfeld findest Du bestimmt etwas liebenswertes, etwas einzigartiges etwas das das Herz erwärmt und das all das Chaos wieder ausgleichen kann 🙂 Big Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

