“People are always ready to fight…”

The other day I was rewatching an old Ingrid Bergman movie from 1958 called The Inn of the Sixth Happiness. With the news in the world right now, this little line that Ingrid Bergman utters in resignation in this movie has been playing in my mind on loop today…

I so very much feel the pain of that little line “people are always ready to fight” 

I hear Donald Trump talk about building walls and deporting people and calling for torture. I hear all this pro-Brexit scaremongering nonsense and a lady saying in a TV debate that Bexit needs to happen to “stop the dilution” of the British people (pardon me??? Makes me think of Hitler not wanting the Jews to ‘dilute’ the ‘Aryan race’)! I see Russian and British soccer fans attack each other in France during the European Soccer Championships and people saying that more needs to be done to keep fan groups apart. But why, I ask, do they even have to fight in the first place? And then today I hear some nutjob has killed 50 people in Orlando in a LGBT nightclub! How absolutely tragic! Will the hatred bring about more cycles of hatred and violence?

Why why why this need to always fight? Can’t we disagree with words and discussion instead of killing each other or calling for violence and exclusion? Can’t all weapons and violence just be banned from this world altogether and forever? I feel so sad and helpless and just hope that one day the Trumps of this world and hooligans and scaremongerers and ISIS and wackos obtaining guns to shoot people will be a thing of the past. How much longer can we keep fighting each other? I truly understand there are no easy answers! What I do know is that this endless cycle of hatred will get us nowhere in the end…

quote-an-eye-for-an-eye-makes-the-whole-world-blind-mahatma-gandhi-283139

As Ingrid Bergman says in the clip above “my conscience is my own affair, and theirs is theirs, and yours is yours”, so think what you will of this. I just know that my conscience tells me that violence and guns and exclusion and despots like Trump can not be the answer.

7 thoughts on ““People are always ready to fight…”

  1. Well said. Answers to follow in the fullness of time — but today was really discouraging.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this movie!!! And feel as devastated as you about the events all around the world 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. well said, es. fitting quote, as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree, Esther. I have not seen this film, but now it seems like a gaping hole in my Ingrid Bergman experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Man fühlt sich so hilflos angesichts der Gewalt und der Wut. Die Menschen weigern sich zu denken. Sie wollen einfache und schnelle Antworten, keinesfalls wollen sie komplexe Erklärungen oder gar Kompromisse und sie wollen sich schon gar nicht in andere hineinversetzen. Es ist schwer, nicht die Hoffnung zu verlieren, denn die Menschheit wiederholt diese Gewaltspiralen nun schon so lange. Aber es gibt wohl keinen anderen Weg, als weiter friedliche Wege und den Dialog zu suchen – jeder von uns da wo er/sie in seinem Leben die Möglichkeit hat. Die gemäßigten Menschen in meinem Umfeld sind zum Teil vor Schreck ganz still und dadurch werden die Nationalisten und alle “Wir -wollen-eine-schnelle-und-einfache-Lösung-Schreier” nur noch lauter. Wir müssen zusammen halten und weiter machen. Mahatma Gandhi ist ein strahlendes Beispiel dafür, dass ein einzelner Mensch auch im guten Sinne sehr viel in Bewegung bringen kann.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

