Alice and Richard

So, last night was my turn and I went to see Alice Through the Looking Glass together with a good friend of mine. Reviews haven’t been too glowing for this movie and I can understand why. The movie is high on effects and less high on story and characterisation. The whole story could have been done and dusted in 45 minutes, I felt. There was not much depth of feeling for the characters either. I mean they were amusing and quirky, but did anyone really grab me? No. Well, except Alice, maybe. I liked Alice and love the actress Mia Wasikowska.

Mia Wasikowska is Alice in Alice Through the Looking Glass.

And yet, I had a very good time watching the movie! I marvelled at the look of it, the story interested me enough to keep me going, I loved Mia, but also really liked Helena Bonham Carter as Iracebeth.

Alice looking glass3

Of course, there was Johnny Depp as the Hatter, who did a fine job. Even with all that make up on, he has soulful eyes.

Alice looking glass4

My favourite part with him was the tea party he had with the Time character. Yes, predictable time jokes, but they really made me laugh.

Alice tea party hatter time

In the short ‘real world’ sections there was a young man named James Harcourt, played by Ed Speleers who I don’t now but who does look vaguely familiar. He very quickly comes to view Alice in admiration, in the screencap below he is pleased with Alice and her mother’s exploits at the end of the movie. His role is very brief but there is a hint of romantic interest there, which I am always very sensitive to. ๐Ÿ™‚

Alice looking glass7

And then there was Richard Armitage of course! His screen time is sadly all too brief as King Oleron but his role, though small, is crucial. That is of course very gratifying! He did well and again I was struck by the expression in his eyes… the man acts so well with his eyes! Every time he was on screen I willed the camera to remain on him longer but alas, that did not happen. Still, I cherished every second and tried not to blink.

King Oleron

I also tried to see whether the statue in the town square looked like him, as was confirmed on Twitter, but alas I could not make it out, not even in 3D.

Kind Oleron statue

Servetus mentioned 10 reasons to go see the movie because of Richard’s cameo. I can only agree and add an extra reason: the second time Richard is on screen (it’s blink and you will miss it!) he lifts the child-Iracebeth up and tenderly, fatherly and with concern in his voice tells her to put her arms around his neck. That alone is a little heartwarming moment (I’m sorry, images are blurry but the best I could do).

Just before that, when he comes running to the scene after Iracebeth falls, you can also hear his worried “where is she?”. It’s those little moments that count and warm an Armitage fan’s heart… ๐Ÿ™‚

I remember watching the first Alice movie some years ago in the cinema and I remember leaving the cinema really having enjoyed it! I remember liking the story and the characters, the effects where beautiful, the phantasy world was phantastical and I remember laughing. For this second movie to work, it needed another good story, especially considering theย Alice world and the visuals that go with it aren’t all necessarily new anymore. I didn’t feel it delivered that much on the story front and although this movie was fun and funny at times, I remember the first movie amusing me more. So, this time around I was not as enthusiastic as I remember being after the first movie. However, I still really did enjoy it, it was never boring and it still looked beautiful and it will of course remain extra memorable because Richard is in it, even if only ever so briefly…

9 thoughts on “Alice and Richard

  1. Thanks for your impressions of this movie! It is good to see RA back on screen ๐Ÿ™‚
    Ed Speleers was in Wolf Hall and Downton Abbey, maybe you saw him there?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I read that on IMDB. I have not seen Wolf Hall (although I still intend to sometime) and have seen only bits and pieces here and there of Downton (surprisingly Downton never really did it for me). But yes, it probably must be from Downton then that I ‘know’ him.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. See Wolf Hall!!

    Seriously, I suspect that Suzanne Todd said that just to make people happy. I don’t see the resemblance except in a very vague sense and can’t imagine they’d go through all that work (unless it is a green screen, in which case, code away).

    Liked by 2 people

  3. and thanks for the link love!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for your thoughtful review! It gives me some Richard Armitage nuances to look for. I love how he gives every roll his full attention–even small cameo’s.
    I’m still coughing away, so it will be a bit longer before I can sit through a movie in a movie theatre. I’m also hoping to see the Jane Austen film “Love and Friendship” (aka Lady Susan).

    Like

  5. The tea party looks like the best part, except for Richard’s cameo of course ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Oh thank you for the review ๐Ÿ™‚ That sounds really good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

