Remembering papa

A year ago today my father passed away at the age of 81. He had lived a varied and rich life, filled with love and laughter and great works and deeds and of course also some trials and very difficult times. He wasn’t perfect but he was my dad and my hero in many ways. The last 3 years of his life he lived in a nursing home, suffering from Parkinson’s disease. That was a very difficult time but he was loved and cared for and visited daily…

2012 IMG_0593

I made a film with photos of my dad’s life when we knew he wouldn’t have long anymore. I finished it just before he died and even played it for him that night I spent alone with him, keeping watch, 24 hours before he passed. He wasn’t conscious anymore by then but it helped me say my goodbyes. The film, in a slightly longer form, was played at his funeral reception (in loop). People gathered around and talked and asked questions about certain pictures and remembered the fulfilled life he had had.

Opening up a bit more about grief also makes me want to share it. So, here it is, my film for papa:

ETA: apparently the video doesn’t play in Germany, so here it is on Vimeo as well (hope it works):

I shall cherish his memory forever.

12 thoughts on “Remembering papa

  1. Beautiful, Esther. It’s moving to see time passing in your compilation, and the circle of life. I must say, he was a handsome young man!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many memories. I am giving you a big metaphorical hug!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Was für ein schrecklicher Tag! Ich hoffe, Du kannst mit weniger Schmerz und mehr Freude an ihn denken, aber 1 Jahr später ist das Gefühl des Vermissens bestimmt noch sehr groß. Das Video ist für uns Deutsche leider gesperrt 😦
    Big hugs ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for sharing your Dad with us through your lovely video! My sympathies on your loss. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

