A smile and a tear

“A tear to unite me with those of broken heart;
A smile to be a sign of my joy in existence.”  – Khalil Gibran

The smile: this evening the kids, my husband and I are going to see my favourite band Muse live in Amsterdam! They already played there 2 nights ago, they will play again tonight and they will play a 3rd night as well tomorrow. There are videos on YouTube of Monday’s performance, like this one:

I have already seen them in concert twice a few years ago and loved it. By the looks of it I am going to love it again tonight! I so wonder what my husband and kids will think, they have never seen them live (but know the songs as I constantly play their music).

The tear: tomorrow we go the funeral of my friend’s mother… My friend and her sister incidentally also have Muse tickets, for tomorrow’s show. I wonder if they will feel up to going and if it could help give them a smile on an otherwise hopelessly sad day…

11 thoughts on “A smile and a tear

  1. Heute war eine Kritik in der Zeitung, sie haben wohl gestern (?) auch im Rheinland gespielt, das Konzert muss grandios gewesen sein.
    Und ja, ich kann es mir vorstellen dass man nach so einem furchtbaren Tag zu einem Konzert geht, gerade weil es ein schrecklicher Tag war. Die Mutter hätte es sich bestimmt nicht gewünscht dass ihre Töchter zu Hause sitzen und heulen, sondern sie hätte ihren Kindern das Konzert gegönnt (mir wäre das so gegangen). Der Verlust oder die Trauer wird nicht geschmälert….
    Viel Kraft für Morgen!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sorry for your friend’s loss. I hope they will go to the concert and have some cheer.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, I hope they go to the concert and get a drink and toast their loved one. And hope you enjoy the show!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Verdriet en vreugde liggen soms dicht bij elkaar. Hopelijk hebben jullie veel plezier gehad tijdens het concert en was het een mooi afscheid van de moeder van je vriendin.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

