RIP Harper Lee!

I am just reading that Harper Lee has passed away! To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my absolute favourite books ever… Harper Lee was 89 and until last year Mockingbird was her only published book. And what a book it is!

When at the beginning of last year another book of her’s was announced to be published, about grown up Scout and her having to accept that her father Atticus is only human, I was super excited. I was a little wary of reading it, as I loved To Kill a Mockingbird so much, but I was super curious as well.

na

Go Set a Watchman ended up being on OK read, but To Kill a Mockingbird will always have a special place in my heart. To this day I recall the wonder of reading it for the very first time at age 15 while on summer holiday in Ireland. I can still see myself sitting out in the sun, reclining against a tree, reading. I have read it many times since and every time I do, it still holds it’s magic.

Rest in peace, Harper Lee! And thank you for giving us Atticus and Scout Finch!

 

5 thoughts on “RIP Harper Lee!

  1. Nach den Musikern sind jetzt die Schriftsteller dran :-((((( Heute noch Umberto Eco 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great memory, of reading that book for the first time on holiday, outdoors. I can picture it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can still feel the annoyance at being disturbed or being asked to do other things (like going on a daytrip) when all I wanted to do was read, read, read. It is one of the very few books I read again straight away after finishing it. Actually, come to think of it, it may even be the only book I have ever done that with!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yes, you are describing my whole childhood and adolescence. My mother used to yell at me to stop reading and vacuum the floor! Right when I was at a crucial bit in “Lord of the Rings” or “The Once and Future King” or “Gone With the Wind.”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

