Rickman remembered

To paraphrase Alan Rickman as the sheriff of Nottingham: this week with both Bowie and Rickman passing away I do feel like my heart has been eaten out with a spoon!

I’ve been thinking back over Rickman’s career now, here are the movies that I think I will remember him best for:

Truly Madly Deeply (1990)

About a man haunting his girlfirend after he has passed away, trying to help her move on. Better than Ghost which had a similar theme.


 

Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves (1991)

Rickman stole this movie from Kevin Costner, he was so excellent as the sheriff of Nottingham!


 

Sense and Sensibility (1995)

One of my favourite movies anyhow and that is also due to Alan Rickman, the best Colonel Brandon ever! I love the gentleness in his voice when he reads to Marianne (Kate Winslet) in this scene:


 

Harry Potter movies (2001-2011)

Undeniaby an excellent Professor Severus Snape in all the Potter movies!


 

Love Actually (2003)

Another favourite movie of mine. Alan Rickman plays the man torn between loyalty to his wife and lust so very beautifully. And reacts very nicely to Rowan Atkinson in this funny scene.


 

Snow Cake (2006)

Tour de force acting perfomance of Rickman in this touching movie about a traumatised man who goes to a small town to tell a mother her daughter has died in a car accident. There he also becomes friends with an autistic woman.


 

A Little Chaos (2015)

And just a few weeks ago I watched this movie, which I enjoyed very much! A movie Rickman also directed about a female landscape artist  (Winslet again) designing a garden at Versailles for King Louis XIV. Rickman played Louis and seeing him in that role was one of my fave parts of the movie. Stealing the show in his own film!


 

And I want to end with a smile.  Tom Hiddleston (and apparently Benedict Cumberbatch as well) famously enjoys doing an Alan Rickman impression (see the very beginning of this video):

Or here, while he’s preparing to shoot a scene as Loki:

And here’s what Alan had to say about that himself!

On Jimmy Fallon he joked about it as well.

This man was special with such an iconic voice! He really will be missed…

RIP Alan Rickman and thank you!!

8 thoughts on “Rickman remembered

  1. Die Videos von Hiddleston sind klasse, Danke!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I looked into getting a few of his movies and it is going to be difficult. Many are “currently unavailable” on Amazon. Truly Madly Deeply a third-party seller wants $554.89, I can rent (stream) Robin Hood with Amazon Prime for $4 – not sure yet whether I will or not. It’s not really my favorite genre. I bought the DVD for A Little Bit of Chaos for $10. Fortunately I have Sense and Sensibility and Love Actually. My son has all of the Harry Potter Movies 🙂

    I loved the Hiddleston and Cumberbatch imitations!

    Like

  3. Truly, Madly, Deeply has been more or less unavailable for years. I wonder if this might somehow bring it back.

    I loved these impressions — something to smile about on a not very smiley day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TMD was the first movie I saw him in, and he made a huge impression. Loved it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] is that this past week I was reminded that it was a year ago that both my hero David Bowie and Alan Rickman passed away… I was able to pick myself up by listening to Bowie songs and here in our house […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

