Paranoid Bowie

David Bowie pick of the day – “I’m Afraid of Americans” from the 1997 Earthling album.

Bowie said about this song: “‘I’m Afraid of Americans’ was written by myself and Eno. It’s not as truly hostile about Americans as say ‘Born in the USA’: it’s merely sardonic. I was traveling in Java when the first McDonalds went up: it was like, ‘for fuck’s sake.’ The invasion by any homogenized culture is so depressing, the erection of another Disney World in, say, Umbria, Italy, more so. It strangles the indigenous culture and narrows expression of life.”  (source: http://www.teenagewildlife.com/Reviews/Albums/E/PressRelease.html)

I find this a mesmerizing video, have been watching it again and again. It’s not only disturbing but I also find Bowie so incredibly good-looking in this. 🙂 Also,  I find this quite topical for today in view of all the gun violence issues in the US – you could become quite paranoid wondering who is carrying a gun and who isn’t. It’s not a paranoid thought I’d have here in Europe…

Is it time to stop obsessing over David Bowie now? I know I may be boring everyone with all this. When my dad died, I was (and really still am) at least as obsessive but I have preferred to keep most of that private. With Bowie, I just keep on wanting to share and share. I’m finding it hard to let go…

 

5 thoughts on “Paranoid Bowie

  1. You’re not boring me. I watched all of your picks on my big screen TV last night. So many memories connected to Bowie’s music.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like I wrote about mom’s death forever and ever on blog, and I could still publish it every two weeks or so but I feel like it’s boring to others. So write away — we need to say what we need to say.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. […] shriek! Bowie’s song I’m Afraid of Americans is the title song! I love that song, even blogged about it earlier in the year after Bowie passed away. Then later on in the first episode, when Daniel flirts […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

