30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 20

Day 20 – Your favourite romantic movie

I could just be lazy and refer to my favourite movie Roman Holiday again. Or I could refer to other romantic movies I have already mentioned during this challenge, but I won’t; I’ll pick a new one and I have two Ingrid Bergman movies I am trying to choose between.

First there’s Casablanca with Humphrey Bogart from 1942. It’s a wonderfully constructed movie about politics and love with a lot of drama, suspense, and yes, even humour. Even the minor characters are excellent in this movie. Apparently many actors were themselves refugees from Europe.

So very many classic scenes in Casablanca! From Dooley Wilson singing As Time Goes By, to depressed Bogart sitting in a darkened bar with a whiskey drowning his heartache, to the “We’ll always have Paris” scenes, the people in the bar singing the Marseillaise and drowning out the German officers singing, the ending with the famous line: “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.” It has brought so many more classic lines, like “Round up the usual suspects” and “Here’s looking at you kid” and “It doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world” and “Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine” and “You played it for her, you can play it for me… If she can stand it, I can. Play it!” Let me just share this scene from Casablanca where the romantic tension is just palpable:

A fun little scene I would also like to share is this one of an elderly Austrian refugee couple who are looking forward to traveling on from Casablanca to America…

I could share so many more! In fact, it’s probably just best to watch the whole thing. 🙂 Apparently right up till the end of filming it was still unclear which man Ingrid Bergman would end up with, so she had to be totally in love with both men at the same time. I’m still not sure whether she made the right choice or not…

The other Ingrid Bergman movie I was thinking of is Notorious from 1946. It’s an Alfred Hitchcock movie with Cary Grant in which Ingrid Bergman plays a woman who has to spy on a group of ex-Nazis in South America, Cary Grant is her handler and they fall in love but life, love and trust aren’t so easy…

The chemistry between Ingrid Bergman and Cary Grant is absolutely crackling! There’s danger and attraction and yearning for each other and jealousy. You so very much root for these two to get together in the end! The scene where they go to Ingrid’s apartment and hold each other and talk and kiss and never once break contact while moving around to make a phone call is considered to be the longest kissing scene in a movie! I don’t know if that still is the case, but that is the reputation it has had. Here’s a video of Alfred Hitchcock talking about that scene and the funny story that inspired it:

My first inclination was to answer Casablanca to this question, but now, as love stories go, I think I may have to go with Notorious instead! A lot more kissing in there as well than in Casablanca. 😉 Anyway, both are excellent movies!

(30 Day Movie Challenge – the full list of questions)

11 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 20

  1. Two incredible movies! But you’re right, there is nothing else like that kissing scene in “Notorious.” I was interested to hear that the actors hated doing that scene, but maybe it’s because it was even more intimate than a nude scene. They had to make it convincing that they were utterly mad for each other, and they did, though I think Bergman is more passionate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t care for romances. I was thinking about this and I think my favorite scene in a film that has to with romances is in “That Thing You Do” (1996), where Faye talks about all the kisses she’s been wasting on Jimmy.

    But I’m sure these classics are great …

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are! And not overly melodramatic like some romances are. I just love a good romance (and I do not include Nicholas Sparks in that; I read one or two of his books and have seen a few adaptations and I find I have little patience for them…)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Die Kussszene in “Berüchtigt” (so hieß der Film bei uns) ist aber auch sehr leidenschafltich! Was diese beiden Schauspieler in die eine Szene packen ist unglaublich, Hier stimmt die Chemie und wie sich die beiden ansehen – wow!
    Gary Grant war aber auch ein richtig gut aussehender Mann 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

