30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 18

Day 18 – Your favourite comedy

Last year I attempted a list of my top 10 favourite Christmas movies and the number 1 on that list also happens to be my favourite comedy ever! It is 1979’s The Life of Brian, made by Monty Python. Here’s the trailer although for me it doesn’t quite do the movie justice:

This movie is still seen as sacrilegious by some, but it really shouldn’t be. It never makes fun of Jesus himself; it’s about Brian who lives a life parallel to Jesus and is mistaken for a messiah. Brian unwillingly becomes the object of adoration and tries to escape from it. It is that and the poking fun at history and the Romans that provides the comedy.

The Life of Brian has so very many classic funny scenes that I won’t start listing them here (I already listed some in my Christmas movies post mentioned above); you’ll just have to watch this for yourself and see! And best to watch it in English as well, as half the humour dissipates in another language.

Even after watching it often it still has me in stitches every time!  I spent my childhood in Israel which is a hotbed of religion and you are confronted with history at every turn. I grew up with bible stories and my dad was a very critical theologian so there were discussions in our house about the “historical Jesus” and how he came to be the center of a world religion (I found reading Zealot : The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth by Reza Aslan absolutely fascinating in that respect). This movie and the issues it pokes fun at just fits with the environment I was brought up in and I think that’s why it clicks with me so!

(30 Day Movie Challenge – the full list of questions)

 

13 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 18

  1. I would agree that this is one of the best comedies ever made. It still has the power to shock, as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, yes, yes! Absolute cult film, and dead on about so many things when it comes to religion, though.
    I have always regarded this as one of the funniest films ever, but I had an interesting wake-up call a couple of years ago. They were showing the film in an open-air screening and I went along with an Irish and a Lithuanian friend who both have great senses of humour. The Lithuanian (in her mid 30s) left one-third into the film because she did not find it funny at all. The religious references were completely lost on her, who had grown up in the firmly atheist then-USSR.
    In Ireland, The Life of Brian was banned until 1987!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you agree. 🙂
      Yes, it’s more of a comment on people and their attitude to religion than any comment on the figure of Jesus himself. I can imagine that people who don’t understand the bible references would be baffled at how this could be funny.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great movie! I love the Python, too.
    Have you seen “A Fish Called Wanda” with John Cleese etc…? (1988)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The funniest film I’ve ever seen is “All of Me” with Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin — long forgotten. But I can laugh even now thinking about some of the jokes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] have mentioned before that I love Michael Palin. He is my favourite Python, The Life of Brian is one of my favourite comedy ever and I love his travel shows. I have read the travel books he has […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

