30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 15

Day 15 – The best movie adaptation of a book

When I think of movies that I love and have also read the book of, there are some great adaptations that spring to mind (and I know I must be forgetting some): the Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings / The Hobbit adaptations, The Help or To Kill a Mockingbird (the adaptations I love, the books I love even more), Atonement or Breakfast at Tiffany’s (where I really liked the movies but found the books tedious), Bridget Jones’s Diary, The Remains of the Day, Doctor Zhivago, Gone With the Wind, The Color Purple, A Room With a View, Sophie’s Choice, Rebecca and any Jane Eyre adaptation (TV or movie, I watch them all and I like most of them to some degree or other, although I am still searching for the perfect adaptation for that book).  But I think my favourite movie adaptation from a book has got to be Ang Lee’s Sense and Sensibilty with a screenplay by Emma Thompson!

I love Jane Austen and Emma Thompson did such a great job translating Austen’s novel into a screenplay. It was not exactly the same as the book but that never bothered me as the story was all there, with some extra bits thrown in. The movie brought out the humour, the love and the drama in the story and Emma Thompson deservedly won an Oscar for that.

ET Oscar S&S

Sense and Sensibility introduced me to Kate Winslet who I instantly loved. The other roles were also wonderfully cast and the film just looked beautiful. And Greg Wise, who played the unworthy Willoughby, ended up being Emma Thompson’s husband in real life! I still love watching this movie. I also love that Geraldine Granger was watching it in The Vicar of Dibley and then some time later, when Harry Kennedy proposes to her, Dawn French (as Geraldine) spoofs Elinor’s reaction so delightfully when she realizes Harry is free to marry her. 🙂

(30 Day Movie Challenge – the full list of questions)

6 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 15

  1. Der Film ist so wunderschön! Wie Kate Winslet im Regen steht……. oder die ‘Schluckaufszene’ am Schluss, die ja auch im Vicar behandelt wird, so was ‘fürs Herz’….immer wieder schön!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know Greg Wise married Emma Thompson! I agree this is a lovely adaptation of the book, and Greg was the perfect Willoughby.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes, Emma and Kenneth Branagh had just separated when S&S was being made. She has stated before that making S&S saved her during that difficult time, and maybe Greg had something to do with that too. They got married a few years later and are still married. I’m glad she seems to have found happiness like that. And Kenneth Branagh too, who also seems happily married now as well. I used to love the idea of Kenneth & Emma as a couple but that was not meant to be.

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

