30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 10

Day 10 – Least favourite movie of your favourite actress

My favourite actress, I have a few! I love Ingrid Bergman but haven’t seen enough of her Italian/European movies to judge and I love Audrey Hepburn and have seen almost everything she did but can’t really think of what I didn’t like her in. But there are more favourite actresses… I love Emma Thompson, Kate Winslet, Judi Dench, Kristin Scott-Thomas. The actress I admire most, however, must be Meryl Streep. To the dismay of my husband who seems to have a Meryl Streep allergy…

Meryl Streep is one of the greatest actresses ever, I am always in awe of her ability to disappear into a role. I love her. I think I have seen most of her movies and almost everything she does is worth watching, even if the movie she is in may not be all that. I say ‘almost everything is worth watching’ because there is one movie that is a bit of a cringe and that for me is 1989’s She-Devil.

she devil

It also stars Roseanne Barr (I quite liked her Roseanne tv show at the time) and Ed Begley jr.

I am all for women empowering themselves and this story is about one such woman, Roseanne, taking revenge on her cheating husband and his lover and finding herself and her strength in the process. Meryl Streep played the over-the-top romance writer and lover that needed to be taken down.

I remember watching the movie in the cinema (and once or so a few years later)  and doing my best to like it but for starters the acting just wasn’t great. I remember Roseanne being very monotonous and Meryl doing her best at being over the top but I really could not find the humour in that. I mean, I know the audience was supposed to hate her, but there was nothing for me to hate or love or even smile at. She just made me shake my head and cringe. To think that Meryl Streep could make me cringe and not in a good way! I did root for Roseanne to succeed and was happy enough for her when she did but no, in my recollection this movie was not the funniest of comedies. It really was a bit of a miss for Meryl who at that point had started a dip in her career, looking for different kinds of roles to challenge her as she was tired of all the drama she’d been doing. Luckily she recovered from that dip to give us many more excellent parts to admire her in!

 

(30 Day Movie Challenge – the full list of questions)

9 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 10

  1. Mery Streep ist großartig und unglaublich wandelbar. Ich amüsiere mich jedes Mal großartig wenn sie in “Mamma Mia” in den 70er? Klamotten auf dem Bett singt!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I saw this in the cinema and thought it was pretty weak. But Meryl’s always worth watching 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember that movie too…
    I love Meryl Streep – she’s one of my favourite actresses (with Emma Thompson, Kristin Scott-Thomas too – maybe I could add Maggie Smith, Judi Dench ) I ‘m still looking for a French actress ….( I don’t like Catherine Deneuve … )

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That was a dumb film. My favorite actress is Ashley Judd but I don’t know what her worst film would be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

