30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 5

Day 5 – A movie that reminds you of someone

This one is easy for me, but in my case it’s a few people and a set of movies and it’s all about  The Lord of the Rings trilogy! This trilogy always makes me think of some people who are very dear to me…

I was first introduced to The Lord of the Rings by my husband. He loved the books and although I thought I wouldn’t much like this whole fantasy adventure thing, once I saw The Fellowship of the Ring in the cinema with him I was hooked! My husband wouldn’t give me any spoilers as to what would happen next, so I went on to read the book almost instantly; I just had to know how the story would unfold. My husband and I love these movies and the subsequent The Hobbit movies as well. The Hobbit also combined my love for Richard Armitage with my husband’s affection for Tolkien, which is of course an extra bonus! This is what one of our bedroom walls looks like:

LOTR&Hobbit

If I hadn’t loved my husband so much already, I could have easily fallen in love with him then and there in December 2001 for introducing me to these stories J.R.R. Tolkien and Peter Jackson have so masterfully crafted.

The Lord of the Rings also reminds me of two of my very dearest friends. We met online not long before Fellowship came out and when they too fell in love with the films (and my one friend fell in love with Viggo Mortensen even more than I did), we suddenly had extra shared interests to talk (and gush) about. These movies also lead to us finally meeting in person in Boston in 2004 when my one friend said she wanted to see an exhibition there on how The Lord of the Rings was made.

LOTR exhibition

So we all travelled to Boston – me from the Netherlands, they came from their corners of the world in the US, and we met as part of a larger group. However, only the three of us went to that exhibition, which was an adventure in itself as two of us were, well, a little hungover and the third was such an excellent sport about it. Meeting each other in person and going to that exhibtion together cemented a friendship that is still going strong today!

Not bad, having such an excellent movie trilogy remind me of my husband and two of my best friends, right? 🙂

(30 Day Movie Challenge – the full list of questions)

 

6 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 5

  1. Fleißiges Bienchen, Du arbeitest die Challenge aber sehr straight ab! Eine schöne Erinnerung verbunden mit einem tollen Film,na ja eigentlich 3 Filmen 🙂

    Like

  2. I know which side of the bed you sleep on…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Du warst bei der LOTR Exhibition in Boston? Wow! Ich bin damals dafür nach London geflogen und habe mich dort auch mit online-Freunden getroffen. LOTR und Boromir haben mich damals das erste mal in die online-Fandom-Welt geführt. Ein schöne Zeit und gute Erinnerungen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

