As much as I love Colin Firth…

… I do wonder whether it is a good idea to revisit Bridget Jones,

Renee Zellweger and Colin Firth are filming Bridget Jones 3 right now. I absolutely loved the first Bridget Jones film, the second was alright but not so great and now, years later they are filming a 3rd!

Bridget 1  Bridget 6  Bridget 8

Bridget 4

I have read the 3rd book, in which Darcy has died 5 years earlier and Bridget is a widow with 2 kids trying to navigate single parenthood, social media, and getting back into the dating game. Obviously, that is not what the Bridget Jones 3 film is about, as Colin Firth’s Darcy is still very much alive and Bridget is pregnant (unless these scenes are flashbacks, but I understand the film plot is different from the book plot anyhow)… Hugh Grant isn’t back in for this 3rd film and Patrick Dempsey from Grey’s Anatomy fame is a new addition to the cast. I wonder whether they have kept Bridget’s friends and parents in this film. I would like that.

Maybe the new film will be OK and I am sure I will go watch it, but there is a doubt niggling there… Bridget 2 was in many ways a rehash of  Bridget 1 – I mean, did they really have to relive the fight between Darcy and Daniel Cleaver? It was brilliant in the first film, it felt like a contrived plot twist in the second. I hope 3 will be better than that and won’t be more of the same experiences in new settings… Fingers crossed!

12 thoughts on “As much as I love Colin Firth…

  1. I agree with you–it doesn’t sound good. And the photos look rather grim!

    Like

  2. I don’t know why they’re bothering with this – especially Colin FIrth – but Renee has’t been in anything for while,anyway, not that I can think of. I agree, the second film was far inferior t the first, which was a gas.

    Like

  3. sigh, film makers never seem to learn that it is better to stop while people still want it and before you just think same old same old or just, old 😉

    Like

  4. I didn’t even see the second one so I can’t imagine I’ll see this. I wish they would realize that we would like some new material occasionally …

    Like

  5. I have to say, the pics so far are a bit disappointing. I mean, honestly – who wants to be reminded of their own middle-aged-ness? But well, when it comes to it, I’ll probably watch it – for old times’ sake.

    Like

  6. […] days ago new pictures emerged of the filming of the new Bridget Jones movie. I still question whether making a new Bridget Jones movie is a good idea, but at least these pictures (with an actual baby) look a little more loving than the last ones I […]

    Like

  7. […] a few nights ago I went to see Bridget Jones’s Baby. I was very suspicious of a new Bridget Jones movie but I can’t resist Colin Firth as a Mr. Darcy character (I can not resist Colin Firth – […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

