6 months

6 months ago today, my dad passed away and he’s been on my mind a lot today. I can never begin to express what he has meant to me, so I let others do that for me. He adored Johann Sebastian Bach and one of his favourite pieces was Bach’s “Wachet auf ruft uns die Stimme”. He used part of that cantata (the “Mein Freund ist mein” part) as inspiration for when he officiated at my wedding 16 years ago.

1999 Papa wedding Esther Marcel

So, in his memory, I’d like to share this:

Mein Freund ist mein,
  -und ich bin sein,-
die Liebe soll nichts scheiden.
Ich will mit dir
  -du sollst mit mir-
im Himmels Rosen weiden,
da Freude die Fülle, da Wonne wird sein.
My Friend is mine,
  – and I am yours, –
love will never part us.
I will with You
  – you will with Me –
graze among heaven’s roses,
where complete pleasure and delight will be.
12 thoughts on “6 months

  1. (((Esther)))).

    Like

  2. That’s beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. It’s not a very long time at all. Nice to see you indulge in happy memories, instead of sad…

    Like

  4. Oh Esther, das ist so furchtbar und nach 6 Monaten schmerzt es wahrscheinlich noch immer ganz fürchterlich, big hug!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a beautiful memory! {{{Hugs}}}

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

