Happy Birthday, Colin Firth!

Today is Colin Firth’s 55th birthday! And it is also almost 20 years ago that I instantly fell in love with him as soon as he walked onto my TV screen in the BBC’s “Pride and Prejudice” as Mr. Darcy! I was hooked after the first episode aired at the end of September 1995 and I could hardly wait for each week to see the next episode!

Colin Firth Darcy 3

Colin Firth Darcy 1

The Darcy role has famously followed him, he played a version of it in “Bridget Jones’s Diary”:

Colin Firth Bridget 3

I so love this look with the turtle neck sweater and purple scarf!

Colin Firth Bridget 2

About to kiss a blonde lady – from behind that could be me (without my glasses on)!

Even in last year’s Woody Allen film “Magic in the Moonlight”, his character has some Darcy traits and he proposed to the girl in a very Darcy-esque way, condescending to marry her despite all objections…

Magic In The Moonlight 2014 (Colin Firth, Emma Stone)

When the man won his Oscar for “The King’s Speech” in 2011, I was thrilled!!

Colin-Firth-Oscar

And he loves his wife. I just love that he loves his wife! Here he is helping her get dressed for the Oscars 2011. Awww…

Colin Livia Oscars 2011

And he’s such a gentleman. Here he is helping Meryl Streep into the shoe she lost while collecting her BAFTA award in 2012. Of course she gratefully kissed him for it. Who wouldn’t? πŸ™‚

Colin Cinderella BAFTA 2012

To see him being Prince Charming in action, watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3s2D6gs1Ui0 (and Stephen Fry comments on it at the end).

Some picures of him taken in May this year, one of them taken when he arrived in Cannes:

Colin Firth 2015-05 Colin Firth Cannes 2015-05

And some pictures of him taken this past summer while filming:

Colin Firth 2015-06 Colin Firth 2015-06(2)

And the most recent one of him taken this month with wife Livia, supporting her Eco Age sustainable fashion endeavors:

Colin And Livia 2015-09

Happy Birthday, Colin Firth! I have loved you for 20 years – I think I can safely say that my love for you is here to stay!

9 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Colin Firth!

  1. The first time I saw him – in Bridget Jones, and love him and Bridget, they were great! Happy birthday to a great actor ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is the first time I wrote a post ahead of time and scheduled it to be published this morning, and it worked! YAY!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I bet Meryl dropped her shoe just so she could kiss him thanks! πŸ˜‰
    Lovely,lovely man and may we enjoy his films for a loong time.
    I woke up with the same news, the wished him happy birthday on the radio while i was getting ready and played the trailer music from Pride and Prejudice :-))
    Melvyn Tan http://www.bbc.co.uk/music/artists/350d3c6c-c81c-4ebf-b983-9294cb20c02e
    remember this? πŸ™‚ it brought a smile on my face, this and the sun today has put me in a great mood πŸ™‚
    I think i need to re-watch it sometimes soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes, I know the music! I even have the CD somewhere (although right now I wouldn’t for the life of me be able to remember where). πŸ™‚
      I was actually re-watching bits of P&P the other day, it remains masterful to me. Just like with North & South I go back to bits and pieces regularly… I don’t think a year goes by that I don’t see some of each of these costume dramas. Both are so very loved.
      Yes, sun shining here as well – it’s a good day. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw, he is such a doll. Thanks for the great photos πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. […] was celebrating Colin Firth’s birthday here two weeks ago and now it’s time to celebrate the BBC’s 1995 apaptation of Pride & […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

