Käsekuchen

I am no homemaker. I do not enjoy housekeeping chores, I do not sew or knit, I’ll only cook if I really have to (my husband mostly cooks, he likes it more than I do) and I hardly ever bake. My daughter, however, is always pestering me to bake, she loves it. So, grudgingly in the past I have baked cookies with her and have made some simple pastries, occasionally we’ve made cupcakes or brownies with the assistance of some ready-made baking mixes where you only have to add water and eggs.

A week or two ago I was talking about my favourite kind of cake on another blog – delicious German “Käsekuchen” which doesn’t taste the same anywhere else in the world in my (limited) experience. So Suzy, from the Silverbluelining blog, sent me a Käsekuchen recipe which my daughter and I made this morning. There wasn’t a ready-made baking mix in sight, a first for me when it comes to cakes!

Baking Käsekuchen

The cake has just come out of the oven and looks like this:

Käsekuchen

The cake is meant for later today at a ‘high tea’ party a friend of mine gives each year for her birthday and everyone has to bring something. I can hardly wait to taste it! If it tastes as good as it smells (and the dough and filling already tasted good before it went into the oven) then I’ll be in 7th heaven.

I’ll never be a baker, but doing this with my daughter was fun and if the result is good… well, maybe I’ll be persuaded to do this more often. 🙂

Thank you so very much for the recipe, Suzy!!

Oh, and it’s the first anniversary of this blog today as well! I had written one or two posts way back but a year ago today my regular blogging life started with a post about seeing The Crucible and meeting Richard at the stage door.

I am still very much enjoying my blogging and thankful for new contacts I have made through it. So, to celebrate it with Käsekuchen made with the recipe from another blogger – I can’t think of a better way to celebrate, can you?

26 thoughts on “Käsekuchen

  1. Käsekuchen is always a good idea =) It cheers up, it is simple to bake and has always this “home”-Feeling for me.
    But i try the US-variation with cream cheese – and found Nigella Lawsons “London Cheese Cake” really delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, that’s a step too ambitious for me for now, I am still very glad I managed this! 😉 The result was wonderful, the one I baked tastes really good, I will have to bake it for the rest of my family now as well…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Happy blogiversary! So glad you’re here!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Happy Blogiversary! I’ve enjoyed following you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That looks absolutely scrumptious! And happy blog anniversary! Lovely to read you 🙂

    Like

  5. Happy Blogiversary, Esther! And mhhhhhhhhhhhhh, Käsekuchen. I was going to bake one, today, too. I must check with Suzy what kind of recipe it is – with Quark and semolina, by any chance?
    Anyhow, hope the cake tasted as delicious as it looks. I am going to bake mine tomorrow.

    Like

  6. For me there is nothing better than a “Käsekuchen”! Oh, now my mouth is watering…… 😉
    It is definitely an adequate cake to celebrate a blogversary. Herzlichen Glüclwunsch! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wishing you a very happy 1st Blogiversary! Hugs! Yumm about the cake!

    Like

  8. Happy Blogiversary! The Käsekuchen looks great! And you are very welcome with the recipe! Your daughter looks very ambitious 🙂 Do you like the version with cream?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That cake looks fantastic! Happy one-year blogiversary, and may you continue to blog for many more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Happy Blogiversay. Love your stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Happy Blogiversary!
    Herzlichen glückwunsch ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

