Binge-watching…

… yes, I do that when I come across something late to the game.

It happened 9 years ago, for instance, with North & South when I got the DVD as gift from my mother. I had it laying around for a while before one day, when I was sick in bed, I decided to watch one episode. Ended up watching all 4 in one go, I just couldn’t stop despite having a headache and feeling awful. And now, 9 years on, I still adore N&S, I still adore Richard Armitage and I even have my signed N&S poster!

RA N&S signed poster

Binge-watching happened again when I discovered The Mentalist. I had known of its existence but didn’t actually catch an episode till the show was in season 3. Someone recommended it to me, so I watched the pilot, and watched the next episode and the next… watched episodes every free moment I had until I was caught up to season 3!

Behind the scenes picture of an episode of The Mentalist that Simon Baker directed.

Behind the scenes picture of an episode of The Mentalist that Simon Baker directed.

From then on I watched faithfully every week until the series finale last spring.

I’ve had other binge watches, but those were slightly less… desperate than N&S or The Mentalist had been.

And now, here I am again, right in the middle (nearing the end) of a new desperate binge watch – the BBC’s Call the Midwife!

call-the-midwife

Of course I was aware of the series, have been for a few years, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to see a show about other people giving birth. Miranda Hart is on the show and I just love her and loved her Miranda sitcom. So, the other week I happened to catch a rerun episode on TV of what turned out to be an early Call the Midwife episode – I gave it a go because I was curious about Miranda and gosh, don’t you know it, I was instantly hooked! Of course, I couldn’t rest until I had the whole show in my possession and I have been binge watching all the episodes. I love it and already now don’t want the series to end! I love the love that oozes through each episode, the warmth, the strength of characters, all unique and flawed in their own ways. The episodes make me smile and make me cry, they make me feel so many things and make me think.

I am already nearing the end of season 4 now and when I finish that I’ll be all caught up. There will be a Christmas special this year (is it Christmas already?) and early next year there will be a series 5. Whew! The show is still running and I am already looking forward to it in the new year!

9 thoughts on “Binge-watching…

  1. […] as I have been watching Call the Midwife of late, that image of Richard Armitage made me think of Timothy Turner (young actor Max […]

    Like

  2. Interesting. What appeals to you about bingewatching? I ask because while I totally binge read and always have, this particular version of binging just hasn’t captured my attention.

    Like

    • I get it with reading too sometimes. Something captures my attention, especially my heart, and I just need need need to see it all (or read it all) voraciously as quickly as possible. I get so intrigued I absolutely need to know what happens next. I am quite visually oriented, so I can get absolutely absorbed in stories that physically come alive in films or on TV. Binge-watching is annoying in a way, because it takes up a lot of time and you get impatient when you actually have to do other things in life, like eat, drink, sleep, work, etc. On the other hand, it’s a real feel-good place and I love being in it. I see it as an addiction, just a little less detrimental to your health than alcohol or drugs.

      Liked by 1 person

      • you hit on exactly my issue with it — binge-watching is so slow. You can speed up a book, but you can’t speed up a tv show. I don’t have any issues with binge watching, just have never gotten there myself.

        Like

        • Actually, sometimes I peek ahead to a future episode and scroll through a few scenes, just to see where a character might be at then when I get impatient. Or, I go to wikipedia and read spoilers. ๐Ÿ™‚ But then, after those few forays into spoilerdom, I get back to the chronological watching and just savor every moment. By the way, I do have a bit of a problem with binge-watching because it tends to occupy your every thought. It’s OK for short periods of time but when it takes longer you can hit a point of dissatisfaction at not getting anything else done and just needing to watch. Not so healthy after all. Luckily, the binge-watching doesn’t happen too often, or else I’d have to go to a binge-watchers anonymous meeting or something.

          Like

        • Oh, and the binge-watching also explains why I am way behind on catching up on WordPress blogs…

          Like

  3. […] with my latest Call the Midwife addiction, this is something I really want to read as well! Three books in one added to my summer reading […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

