Muse! … and Urban

My favourite band (possibly evah!) is the British band Muse. I only discovered them 3 or 4 years ago, I’ve seen them in concert twice now and that has cemented my love for them even more. Their new album “Drones” is coming out this week and I can hardly wait to hear the whole thing!

Here’s “Psycho” from their new album, my fave for now of the few songs of the new album that I’ve already heard:

The band are a bit pyscho themselves, I do realise, but maybe that is exactly why I like them. 🙂

If you don’t know them, maybe you do know what I think may be their most well known song “Uprising”:

And “Neutron Star Collision” was made for one of the Twilight movies:

Actually, the lyrics in this last song, make me think a bit of Reverend.. er…I mean Richard Armitage’s (a bit odd) tweet of today: “You’d like to be heard & wish others might listen or notice to you? Say something worth hearing”. I really know he means well and wants to stop bullying but that sounded somewhat random to me. Then again, I often say stuff I haven’t really thought through as well, so I’ll just move on and not linger on this. Anyway, part of the lyrics of this Muse song are about preaching:

The world is broken
And halos fail to glisten
You try to make a difference
But no one wants to listen

Hail, the preachers, fake and proud
Their doctrines will becloud
Then they’ll dissipate
Like snowflakes in an ocean

Oh, and just to be sure: I do NOT think Richard to be ‘fake and proud’…

To move from one random topic to another: a “Urban & the Shed Crew” trailer is out and although I would love to hear some of the dialogue I am already loving the images! I wanted to link to it here but I see that it is no longer available on YouTube! Luckily RAFrenzy has managed to make some lovely screencaps, check out her blog post: http://rafrenzy.com/2015/06/06/im-so-behind-on-my-ra-watching/

6 thoughts on “Muse! … and Urban

  1. I love Muse too but I’m a bit disappointed by the last album (well, CD…^^). It seems that they’re playing the same songs again and again – even if their songs are great ;)….What do you think about it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am right now listening to the new album and my very first impression is, like yours, that this isn’t groundbreaking new stuff. It always takes me a little while to get used to new songs. I remember that being the case with their last album, The 2nd Law. Needed to get used to some songs on there as well and I have ended up loving it, every single song (except maybe Animals which is not my fave). That album was different and new which I loved. This album so far sounds like it’s going back to their older stuff and as I like their older stuff, I like it so far! Don’t love it like their other stuff yet but give it a little time… 🙂

      Oh, and cool that you love Muse too!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I got the same impression with The 2nd Law- wich is not my fave album I have to admit. Actually, as I listened to the last album, I decided to go back to old songs – songs from Absolution, Origins of Symetry and I said to myself “yeah, that was really good!” 🙂
        Most seriously, I know how it’s hard for a band to find fresh ways ( and maybe not to change everything…..). I mean, a band has always his own sound but sometimes it’s great to hear something a bit …different. You know, sometimes I think that’s a trap: doing album after album and sounding quite the same (even if it pleases the fans …). It makes me think about U2 for example. Bono’s got the same way of singing since all this time. M.Bellamy seems to do the same so far.
        Well, we’ll see….
        – cool that you love Muse ^^ ! –

        Like

  2. Uprising kenne ich, das finde ich gut zum abreagieren! Ich glaube das brauchen wir alle gerade 🙂 Ja der Text passt auch…… gut gewählt!
    Es gibt nichts im Internt was nicht sofort kopiert wird, der trailer findet sich jetzt u.a. hier:

    Schönes Wochenende!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] now I have to pick a favourite Muse song? Impossible! I’ve already posted links to Muse songs here, here, at the end of this post here and about their latest single here. I even posted about 2Cellos […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

