Music in a deaf world

Last night I saw the French film “La Famille Belier” at the cinema with a friend. It’s about Paula, a farmer’s daughter with deaf parents, who discovers she has a singing talent. Her family depends on her as a go-between in the world of the hearing and they fear losing her to that world when Paula wants to pursue her dreams in Paris.

It’s a comedy but also a drama and this confusion of genres works quite well. This genre confusion sometimes did make the film feel a little uneven, desperately angling for laughs when maybe they weren’t always needed. Regardless of that, it is a beautiful film and the audition at the end of the film – I defy anyone to not break down in tears at that point. Such a very touching moment!

The film made me think of another (German) film from 1996 called “Jenseits der Stille”. It deals with exactly the same topic, only “Jenseits der Stille” is about a girl who is a very talented clarinet player and wants to go to a conservatory in Berlin. I was only able to find a German trailer for that on YouTube:

This film is up there with my favorite films ever, Famille Belier can’t beat that yet, and I have watched it many times over the years. It never fails to touch me to the core and also features some beautiful Klezmer (Jewish) music by Giora Feidmann (who I once saw in concert).

There are many parallels between “Stille” and “Bellier”, so if you enjoy the one, I am sure you would enjoy the other as well. Go check them out even if they only tickle your fancy a little bit! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Music in a deaf world

  1. Funny, I read your first paragraph and thought “Jenseits der Stille” remake, lol πŸ™‚ I saw that when it was in theaters and remember liking it very much, too.

    Like

    • Ha! Yes! If you know Jenseits der Stille that thought is inevitable. When I first saw the trailer to this a few weeks ago it was immediately what I thought as well – it’s remake just with some more comedy in it. I wonder if the people who made it based it on Jenseits der Stille or not. Something to research…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Jenseits der Stille” was a wonderful film, thank you for the Tip!!!

    Like

  3. I saw the trailer for ‘Family Beliers’ in the cinema and I really liked it.

    Like

  4. My thoughts exactly! I enjoyed ‘The Beliers’ but ‘Jenseits der Stille’ provided a more subtle approach to the subject. I dicovered Giora Feidman when watching the latter and finally saw him live on stage in February πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I forgot about that — yeah, that film set off a Giora Feldman craze in Germany, didn’t it? I discovered him that way, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

