A special gift

Fact #1: My mother paints as a hobby, these last few years she’s been doing watercolors (but never signs them – she thinks nothing she paints is good enough to sign).

Fact #2: Two months ago I took my mother to see The Crucible in the cinema and she loved it, she wanted to dedicate a painting to it.

Fact #3: Last week was my birthday…

… and this was the gift I received from her!

IMG_0651 w c

Done after this Richard Armitage / Anna Madeley image that I love so very much:

657000936

Thank you, mama!!

14 thoughts on “A special gift

  1. That is absolutely amazing in so many ways!!! What a thoughtful, great gift – a unique, hand-made item, totally customized to the receiver’s preferences. And so beautifully executed. A well-chosen, pivotal scene, and so detailed. RA and AM are very well caught. Tell your mum I admire her work. (She could probably make a pretty penny if she made a few more of these and sold them in the fandom 😉 – but well, that would possibly take away from the this special gift. But just to say that I think she ought to sign her name. Her watercolour is nothing to be ashamed of. Quite the contrary.) Lucky you!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you and I will be sure to tell her! I have been telling her forever to start signing her work (my dad used to insist as well…) but somehow I can’t get her to do so…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I second Guylty’s observation. That is so beautifully rendered! She should absolutely sign her work, and think about taking commissions. Fantastic. Love it. And yes, what a lovely gift from mother to daughter.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That is a special gift indeed and is sooo beautiful! Really inspired and her name shouls stand by it! And congrats on the birthday as w ell:-)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. What a wonderful present!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wooooow… your mum is very talented ! Bravo to her for this beautiful painting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think it’s beautiful. I especially like the lavender highlights she gave it, and Anna’s headgear. It’s very difficult to do the human figure and face in water-colour, so kudos to your mom!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful…! Your mum is really talented!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a precious gift, and so beautifully executed!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. […] chests post, which I still like to look at occasionally. 😉 Most “likes” were for the A special gift post where I shared the “The Crucible” painting my mom had painted for me for my […]

    Like

  10. […] lighter than the dark blue. The 100th post milestone finally kicked me into action. So, I picked my The Crucible watercolour that my mother had painted for me for my birthday as a header image and picked a new layout theme and, voilà, it all looks different! I’ve got […]

    Like

  11. […] first April 9th post was in 2015 and was about a very special birthday gift I had received from my mother. I think painting it had also been therapy for her after the loss of my dear father just a few […]

    Like

  12. […] specific piece of art I do love above all others, not made by a fan but by my mother: it’s the watercolour painting she did for me of The Crucible that is now also used as the header of this blog; I even have it as my mobile phone […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

