“What is your tale of woe?”…

… “I have no tale of woe, sir”, says Jane Eyre in the 2011 film adaptation with Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender, despite all the adversity she has faced.

Mia Wasikowska - Jane Eyre

So, that is what I tell myself as well… I will not be weighed down by woe. And yet, when you see your dad in a nursing home slowly deteriorating with Parkinson’s Disease it is difficult to not succumb to frustration and hurt and feeling torn between wanting it to end and wanting it to NOT end…

Real life keeps me busy with family, work (which I enjoy but my projects aren’t exactly developing as planned…grrr….) and now with the situation with my father who I love dearly. So, forgive me if I can’t form many coherent thoughts on this blog right now or if I can hardly follow what’s happening on any other blogs.  I hope to be back soon and this little snippet of a blog-post gives me the idea to blog about Jane Eyre adaptations next…

9 thoughts on ““What is your tale of woe?”…

  1. I’m so sorry about your father. My father-in-law had Parkinson’s and it was very tough to deal with.
    Would love to hear your thoughts on “Jane Eyre.” Have you seen the older one with my guy, Ciarán Hinds, as Rochester? A lot of women dislike his Rochester because he is gruff and harsh and not classically handsome. Much like the Rochester of the book 🙂

    Like

  2. So sorry to hear that, Esther. It’s so difficult to see a loved one’s health deteriorating.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry to read about your dad. I hope you can find the right place to lay that burden down, when you need to.

    Like

  4. So sorry to hear about your dad 😦
    I hope you and your family can find a way to cope with this difficult situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

