To Kill a Mockingbird sequel!

One of my most absolute favorite books ever is To Kill a Mockingbird! I can’t tell you how often I have read it. My copy of To Kill a Mockingbird looks like this (without that particular crease, but it does look worn):

TKaM coverI still know exactly when I first read it. I was 15 years old and we were on vacation in Ireland. I can still see myself sitting outside in the sun in a very green environment, reading the book during any spare moment I had. Once I finished it I immediately turned to the first page and started reading it again! The only book that had had that effect on me before had been Jane Eyre (I didn’t discover Jane Austen till later).

A few years later I finallly saw the film with Gregory Peck. Although not quite as rich as the book, it is an awesome film and I have watched it many times. And I absolutely adored the fact that one of my favorite characters in literature was portrayed by my absolute favorite actor at the time and he had won an Oscar for that too!

Atticus

scout_atticus  to-kill-a-mockingbirdatticus scout jem to-kill-a-mockingbird

So, this evening my husband comes home and says “Have you already heard that a sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird will be published?” Say what?!? Harper Lee is a famous recluse and hasn’t published anything since Mockingbird. Who wrote this sequel, I wondered? Lo and behold, I discover it is apparently Harper Lee herself! She wrote it years ago, before she even wrote Mockingbird. Apparently it’s about Scout Finch as a grown up visiting her dad Atticus:

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-31118355

Oh my gosh, I so want to read it and wonder if it can even be as good as To Kill a Mockingbird! Now I can hardly wait till the summer!! I wish Gregory Peck had been alive to read it as well…

4 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird sequel!

  1. I’m actually relieved to learn from you that she wrote it before TKAM because I was thinking, 50 years, and she couldn’t come up with any new characters? Only half serious here. I hope it’s wonderful – I’m looking forward to it also. I had the great pleasure of teaching To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Like

  2. And by the way, I must have been in some sort of denial when I first read the tweet, because I thought – Oh, Harper Row is reissuing TKAM.

    Like

  3. […] think I really will have to start with Go Set a Watchman as I have been so eager to read that the moment publication was announced (I made sure I got my copy straight away yesterday on the date of publication)! Opinions on Watchman […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

