RIP Richard von Weizsäcker

Former German president Richard von Weizsäcker died today at the age of 94.

RvW

http://www.wsj.com/articles/richard-von-weizsacker-former-german-president-dies-1422703320

I was 15 years old and living in Germany when he gave his famous speech in the Bundestag describing the end of the war as a day of liberation, also for the Germans. My family (and I) were fans. Through my father’s work we met him, I’ll have to dig up the picture of my dad and Von Weizsäcker when I’m next at my mom’s house. He was a ‘mensch’ and did a lot for Germany in helping deal with a difficult history. Rest in peace and thank you for bringing the message of tolerance, reconciliation and peace to the world.

3 thoughts on “RIP Richard von Weizsäcker

  1. Thaks for writing this Esther! He was a great man and will be truly missed!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

