Je suis Charlie

I won’t go into a long rant about what happened yesterday in Paris…  I am shocked at the terrorist attack on the satiric newspaper office “Charlie Hebdo” when gunmen ruthlessly shot journalists and two policemen, yelling “allah akhbar” as they exited the building. At attack on freedom of speech which is so shocking it literally made me sick to the stomach.

In my heart I was fearing what would happen next and it looks like it is happening: mosques in France have been attacked in retaliation! I wish people would see the difference between religion and fundamentalism! I know muslims and I know they are just as horrified as I am about what happened… When will the witch-hunting of muslims stop? When will the ‘hunts’ focus on perpetrators instead of attacking a whole religion? This feels like “The Crucible” all over again….

Will mankind never grow out of mob-behavior? And can fundamentalism never be rooted out of humanity? In the long run fundamentalism can never last as it ignores personal freedoms.

I have no words to express how I feel about what is happening in the world… it scares me and makes me unbelievably sad…

3 thoughts on “Je suis Charlie

  1. I totally agree, you nailed it.

    Like

  2. Agree. It is saddening. The attack may have been intended to provoke this type of cyclical revenge and violence. Will it ever stop?

    Like

Leave a Reply

