Introvert me

People see me as social and extravert, but really in my heart I am an introvert. I read this article today and I recognize myself in almost everything the article says!

10 Ways Introverts Interact Differently With The World

1. They withdraw in crowds
Yep, true for me. While I love going to, say, a rock concert I am always iffy about being on the field. I feel crowded and uncomfortable and that takes away from my enjoyment. The last rock concert I went to was a Muse concert (best band in the world right now!!) and I had a seat. While I didn’t sit in that seat at all once the concert started, it gave me an anchor, a great space to enjoy the awesome awesome concert from. I don’t avoid very crowded gatherings, I really can get a lot of enjoyment from them, but I am more comfortable when I can sit to the side and observe the people going by.

2. Small talk stresses them out, while deeper conversations make them feel alive.
In honesty, I am OK with small talk and can do it quite well. In fact, I sometimes feel more comfortable with small talk as in deeper conversation I sometimes fear showing my lack of really knowing anything. But: a deeper conversation does give me a much deeper satisfaction and will stay with me long.

3. They succeed on stage – just not in the chit-chat afterwards.
Not really sure about that one but I have to say I am able to present myself well, so I’m gonna say I can identify with this (see also point 2 about the chit chat).

4. They get distracted easily, but rarely feel bored.
Yes, true! I have to say, however, that growing up in a large family I have always been able to close myself off and into my own world and I still can do so quite effectively (most of the time). I can carve out solitary time even in busy surroundings, a very useful talent for introvert me. And this quote applies to me 100%:
However, when they are in peace and quiet, they have no issue tending to a favorite hobby or delving into a new book for hours. Having that time to take care of their inner selves helps them recharge while enjoying an activity they already enjoy.

5. They are naturally drawn to more creative, detail-oriented and solitary careers.
Librarianship and information science and writing. Need I say more?

6. When surrounded by people, they locate themselves close to an exit. 
Hmm, do I? I don’t know! I will have to test that!

7. They think before they speak
Yes, generally true!

8. They don’t take on the mood of their environment like extraverts do.
Well, I do enjoy a good environment but do I take over the mood? No, not sure that I do.

9. They physically can’t stand talking on the phone.
Most introverts screen their phone calls — even from their friends — for several reasons. The intrusive ringing forces them to abandon focus on a current project or thought and reassign it to something unexpected. […] Instead, introverts may let calls go to voicemail so they can return them when they have the proper energy and attention to dedicate to the conversation.        YES!

10. They literally shut down when it’s time to be alone.
Yes! I enjoy social interaction, even love it, but at some point the time comes that I need to be alone… to process, to recharge, to do the solitary things I love doing like delving into my movie/tv world and into books. I need that alone time almost daily, it is as essential to me as eating, drinking or breathing.

OK, this is probably more than anyone needs to know but there it is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

